You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beautiful Corner of the Universe - The Andromeda Galaxy

in #astronomy6 years ago

"I wonder what the distance will be before it becomes as visible as our moon in terms of how much real estate it takes up in the sky. "
It is actually pretty easy to calculate knowing it's diameter, distance and apparent size, but I am too lazy to do it :)
Guess you already read it, but most likely Solar system won't be affected by the collision. and time and duration of the collisions depend on different models in simulations.

Sort:  

I saw a program awhile back and they speculated how in the future Andromeda will be visible in the night sky. I forget their prediction in terms of years, but it is long before the earth is too hot for humans as we know it. It is interesting that our galaxy will change into a giant elliptical galaxy before the sun expands enough to take out the earth.

As far as the calculation, while I understand what you are saying I am not aware of the formula. It is so far off, I will just enjoy the simulations :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76