Why do I think the Earth is flat?

in #astronomy6 years ago (edited)

Why do I think the Earth is flat?

All of this began when I was sat down on my bed. I was watching some YouTube videos and then suddenly this video appeared in the playlist "10 facts why the earth is flat". Immediately I opened it and I started watching it. I was so focused on the video that I had to watch it twice. After repeating the video two times many thoughts started coming to my mind.

First of all, I do not believe that the man landed on the moon, nor believe those pictures that they have been showing us about our earth. This is simply because every time we want to know something about the space they will always hide that information from us or simply they just tell us the same story over and over.

flatearth

Source: http://www.iflscience.com/space/flat-earth-society-responds-musks-tweet-flat-mars-society-just-cant-even/

Don’t you think if the earth would be spherical as we all know you could see the curvature of the earth from a plane at 50,000 feet of altitude? If earth would be spherical it would make sense. But the answer is no, we cannot see any curvature at that altitude. I know many of you have seen pictures where you can notice some sort of a curve but let me tell you that it is just a wide-angle camera. For those that don’t know what is a wide-angle lens, it is just a camera lens with a profile of 170 degrees. That is why the image of those lenses look bend. Remember this is just my critical thinking on this topic, yours can be the opposite.

This post will be continued...

Sort:  

It's not flat, dude. You can't see the curvature of the earth from a plane because 50,000 feet is not very much when compared to the diameter of the earth which is 41,804,400 feet. To put that into perspective that's like holding your face one foot away from a 1000 ft ball and trying to see how round it is.

Well, that is your perspective. Good observation by the way.

It's not a perspective, it's a testable statement. Should we work through the mathematics and see if his analogy holds up?

I think we definitely should.

I agree with you! The whole concept of "flat earth" does not make any sense for me.

E = MC^2 check it.

It does not worth sending the equation without any explanation of your point of view. Thus, earth is not flat yet.

Great comedy post. I hope the next installation is on the horizon...

hahahaah sure, well this is just to think about it. Do not take it personal lol.

Not personal at all, it was genuine praise! I can't wait for your series on dinosaurs building the pyramids!

That's a good one haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70