Amateur Hour in the Milky Way

in #astronomy7 years ago

First venture into telescope photography

Howdy folks, I bought an Orion XT8 last year and have a pretty fun time finding various objects. Besides the moon and a few planets I've located A couple deep star clusters like M5 and M13( Great Hercules Cluster). Unfortunately I don't have a computerized mount to track deep space objects without manually moving the telescope, which is fine and part of the fun, until you want to take long exposure pictures needed for deep space objects. I also don't have a mount for a camera yet so the best I can do is shakey cellphone shots.

With the powers combined of a stargazing app, my shaky hands, and a 400$ telescope, amateur photos:

Jupiter and 3 moons (before I realized I could turn down the glare)
jup.jpg

Saturn (less magnified because I can't hold the cellphone still)
saturn.jpg

The Moon (couple days after full moon)
moon5.jpg
moon6.jpg
moon1.jpg
moon3.jpg
moon4.jpg

and me when I got the cannon, I mean telescope;
newtele.jpg

Sort:  

Now theres a different kind of photography. Intriguing, Sorry I upvoted too late for you to benefit

Congratulations @naturefalls! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88