I don't get ASMR

in #asmr8 years ago

A few days ago, I found something on youtube called ASMR and I don't get the point of it.

Take a look at that video: 


over 16.000.000 views for what ? Can someone please explain it too me ? I have read a little bit about it, but nothing happend when I watch / hear that video or other videos like this. 

Sort:  

Some people experience ASMR (Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response), however, others like yourself do not. ASMR is quite complex and can be different for anyone who experiences it. For some, certain sight and/or sound "triggers," such as crinkling paper, scratching, brushing, sweeping, certain male or female voices, whispers, and many many more can make the person experiencing ASMR feel what has been described as a feeling of euphoria, relaxation and static like "tingles," which typically rating from the head/scalp and radiate down through spine and for an even fewer body of the ASMR community...the whole body. The feeling is similar to goosebumps. It is not at all a sexual feeling, but rather a complete feeling of well-being and total relaxation.

ASMR is something which has been researched by spiritualists, neurologists and psychologists, but much about it is still unknown. Some believe it to be loosely related to the same brainwave response encountered in primates when they groom each other. Others believe it to be positive side effects of meditation. Still more have related it with auditory-tactile synesthesia. The feeling of euphoria/relaxation can sometimes be minimal and other times be super strong.

At times an individual will experience an ASMR event from a certain trigger today, but tomorrow may watch or listen to the same trigger without any euphoric feeling, and may need to change to a new trigger to feel the same euphoria. This (I believe) is why there are so many videos on ASMR, as the people experiencing this unique response to sights/sounds often need to change ASMR triggers to keep the feeling going.

As someone who experiences ASMR myself, I bring this info to you from what I've learned and encountered and my specific perspectives, but if you want to learn more, I'd recommend doing more research on the subject if you're interested. Either way, I hope this helps. :-)

Here are a few good places to learn more on ASMR:

ASMR Wiki
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autonomous_sensory_meridian_response

ASMR University
https://asmruniversity.com/

ASMR Lab
http://www.asmrlab.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86