The ASMR phenomenon: A whole generation can't sleep! Are you using it, too?

in #asmr6 years ago

I would love to hear from some ASMR "users" (is that the right term?) why they are using it, how often, and how it helps them.

I only heard about ASMR last year, and I was amazed about this whole parallel universe that seems to exist, with ASMR Youtubers having more subscribers than pop stars or celebrities. Well, I guess they are celebrities in their field!

Here's an example, in case you've never encountered it before. Soft spoken language - OK, I'm totally on board with that - but just skip through the video to see all the other props she uses to produce sound.

While I'm super happy for people like the girl above, to have tapped into a niche and become super successful at it - well done!! - the success of this whole Youtube phenomenon does concern me a little.

There seems to be a whole (young!!) generation that can't sleep. I guess listening to youtube is better than taking pills, but still, why is there such a I need help sleeping epidemic? I'm obviously living under a rock. And, thankfully, I'm sleeping very well!

So, I'm really looking for some first hand experiences. Are you using ASMR?

Why do you prefer listening to finger clicking, eating noises or ear cleaning noises (what the what??) over relaxing music or people talking on a podcast (you can turn the volume down...) or an audio book?

Does this really make your scalp "tingle"? And does it really help you sleep?

I am sooo curious...

Sort:  

Wow, I had no idea that it was a thing. I always sleep like a rock and luckily I don't need a ritual to be able to rest. Poor people, it is understandable in a way if you are hooked all day to your phone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Though that’s probably exactly the device they use to watch these videos..

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow i had absolutely also no idea that this was a thing. But this also comes from a fairly good sleeper. Recently I had a bad sleep cycle for a while (nightshifts mess up your schedule every now and then) and I tried this app that telling you breathing exercizes. Honestly, I didnt like it because while falling half asleep you are still trying to listen what they are saying.

But yeah I get why there is a whole generation that doesnt sleep. Phones, email bliebs distract us untill the last second that we close our eyes, and that is where that all comes from! (I think)

I love ASMR and listen to it every single night except when I'm too tired for it and absolutely don't need it to fall asleep. Your article rings a bell in my head because I realize how addicted you can get to ASMR because it becomes a habit you associate with sleep very fast. To answer your question I do get the tingly sensation but once you have been watching too many videos you can become numb and not feel them anymore (except after a break from ASMR) which, when you think about it, really sounds like an addiction. I think taste plays a big role in what type of ASMR you enjoy because you have to be sensitive to it, I react to soft spoken but I completely hate mouth sounds (but some people are relaxed by them), so it's really up to each individual. I even start making ASMR videos on my Dtube channel because I am so passionate about it ^^ It's a big subject but I think there is a link between hypersensitivity and enjoying ASMR : if your nervous system gets overwhelmed by some noises other people don't react to you could become relaxed listening to some sounds other people don't get relaxed by, that's my understanding of the whole thing, and the reason why some people are not reactive to ASMR, I guess :)

This is sooo interesting to me! Good that you're doing your own videos for it. There seems to be such a big market/demand for it.

Congratulations @connecteconomy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 27.39% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

@mountainjewel this is what i was talking about lol x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74