"Asians are smarter than Westerners"

in #asksteemit7 years ago

I was challenged with this statement in Pakistan. I love arguing with people. There is nothing better than besting someone with debate. To know that your logic was stronger than theirs (even if you know you were wrong but got them to agree).

"Asians are smarter than Westerners"

I was so pumped at hearing this statement.

"How so?" I questioned.

Goading out more information is always key when debating. I was already forming a solid argument in my mind (ignoring any knowledge which would point contrary to my position).

"Well... Westerner's are very innocent" he said.

Innocent? This was a curve ball, but I simply asked "What do you mean we are very innocent?"

"Well... Westerner's believe what their governments tell them" and I couldn't help but agree.

I had been bested. It was true that Westerner's are more likely to believe their governments. They had been conditioned to be perfect citizens and believe whatever they were told. In Pakistan people seemed to have their heads on their shoulders. They knew their government was full of shit.

I've heard on many occassions someone say something in the UK, only to read that exact same statement in a newspaper. People are not aware of their own thoughts and often repeat something they have read or heard without questioning or thinking about it. I think Westerner's are waking up to their "innocence", and more and more people are becoming aware.

IMG_20161221_155754.jpg

What do you think? And do you believe/trust your government and institutions?

Sort:  

Good info. Thanks for posting - Voted & Following!

Aren't there more dictatorships in Asia versus the West?

Could be, but ultimately that is a smokescreen. IF one person can force you to live a certain way, does that really impact you any less than if a couple hundred people get to force you to live a certain way?

The end result for you is the same. Someone else is getting to dictate what you can and cannot do.

If you are directly or indirectly harming no one, or their property then why should anyone be able to force you to do anything? How many of them there are is irrelevant.

In some cases a dictator might be more benevolent than the bigger group of people. Cronyism makes big groups in some cases worse. You have to convince the entire group not to be jerks and corrupt.

A dictator at least you only have to convince one.

Yet, ultimately they both suck. They both consist of people forcing other people to live a certain way.

Dictators are surrounded by men who want his place and do everything they can to hold the power.
Sometimes dictatorships turn into another. See Batista to Castro.

Yes, this CAN indeed be the case. It is not always. You inspired a post I just wrote by the way. It wasn't your fault you just made me think of it. Thus the delay in my response... I was off writing a blog post.

I do not mind at all. I enjoy this conversation.

Maybe, but take the UK for example. FTTP voting system is a two party dictatorship. USA also has a two party dictatorship. Perhaps Westerners are not aware of their dictatorships.

If that were the case Trump would d not have been elected. Both parties did everything in their power to dump on him. They even had they Mitt Romney openly decrying him in a national televised speech and tell people to vote for anyone else for the Republican candidate. And the Democrats are known to have tried and bury Bernie during the lead up to the DNC. They are powerful groups, but dictatorships get what they want. All the time. Or people die.

I think this passage "people are not aware of their own thoughts and often repeat something they have read or heard without questioning or thinking about it" is so much true when I observe our culture here.

I have not really seen any LOGICAL reason we should trust governments.

Great post! I just think the word innocent should be replaced with "naive". I also feel the West is beginning to wake up to the reality: the Gov't isn't a friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67317.89
ETH 2666.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70