You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [AskSteemit] - How many vote-bots is too many?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

I've been using a few of the bots for a while, mainly to get some visibility on my posts. It seems like posts with 0 upvotes get a lot less interaction than when there's already some upvotes, so it felt like I was boosting my visibility by getting some automated upvotes. I have not tested this theory, so maybe it doesn't even work as I thought.

On my latest post I got plenty of upvotes organically, so I let it run its course for a day. When I noticed the activity had dwindled, I succumbed and used only minnowbooster on it. That gave me a few extra cents (hardly noticeable on the $60 it already has) and seemingly no other activity than the upvote trail from the bot itself. Next time I won't be using the bots at all.

I agree, for the starting minnow it makes sense to use the bots, and that's a design flaw in the Steemit system. The supply of bots is there purely because there is a demand. I wonder how Steemit could be improved so that upvote bots aren't needed anymore.

In any case, even though I have used them, I'm starting to realize that they actually devaluate what Steemit is about. Automated curation is irrelevant curation. Bots make a post look weaker, not stronger. Still, before saying something rash as "ban all bots" I think we should all think really hard about how to solve the problem that is now solved by bots: the problem that minnows have a really hard time getting noticed.

Sort:  

Thanks for your insights and experience.

I've used a few in the past, and I've tried to avoid using some of the pay-for-vote bots recently, and have done okay organically, or with just the MSP trail bot.

I was hoping to open a dialogue around that question - what could Steemit do organically to satisfy the need that these bots are doing. Better discovery tools? Boosted voting among minnows? Special sections for curators to see minnow content?

I've just loathe to see 100s of vote-bots, paid or otherwise, filling up Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51