You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AskSteemit: If you could go back to the first day you invested in Crypto, what would you do differently?

in #asksteemit6 years ago (edited)

I would pay more attention to altcoins.

 
I have spent a great deal of my time in the cryptocurrency space as a Bitcoin maximalist. When I discovered Bitcoin, there were very few altcoins, at least, not many worth mentioning. We still hadn't figured out how we were going to tackle multisig, for Christ's sake. Gavin was still a "good guy" and was widely applauded for trying to push Luke Dashjr out of the project for being a hard-headed religious nutcase. Years later... who's still on the team? If you'd told me the answer then, I'd have shat myself. LOL.

I spent way too long in the circle-jerk... and in many ways, it wasn't one. In many ways, the majority of crypto projects out there are fucking shitcoins. I still believe that. And while I do still hold many pro-Bitcoin sentiments (sorry BCH people), I have come to the conclusion that Bitcoin maximalism was a mistake.

Sure, anyone can copy a codebase. Anyone can change some parameters and launch a blockchain. But I waited far too long to get excited about the real innovation in the blockchain world... and I have paid for it by getting left behind. Projects like Monero, BitShares, Steem... the list goes on and on, and while I try to build up my holdings where I can, I seem to have proven my superhuman ability to repeatedly miss the boat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80