You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem the world's first cryptocurrency?

in #asksteemit7 years ago

Hi @kevinwong. I have few thoughts I would like to share with you:

1)This is unrelated but I met Richard Garriot back in 2010 when I was studying in UNIMAS.He was sharing his experience as an astronaut, I was thin and he was younger...haha.

2)In terms of user behaviour, I think the beta stage of Steemit is to conduct functional and usability testing. I get it why it is still in beta stage since the running capacity is still low. During this timeframe maybe Steemit Inc can collect data on user behaviour and take some action on it before they release the final version. Looking in a positive way, the whale war might be a good thing after all since it is happening during this stage. Imagine this happens after 100% capacity, things might get even ugly. We or maybe Steemit Inc might find a concrete solution to address the rewardpoolrape issue. Maybe I am being too optimistic.:)

3)In term of the Ultima Online, I never played it before but I believe he can save his time and money if he had done a user testing or run in beta stage so that he can detect the human killing pattern in the game. I would like to share here about one game that I used to play and can be applied to improve the game. It is called Carnivores Dinosaur Hunter. There are herbivores and carnivores dinosaur but the difficulty in killing is different between carnivores and herbivores. The toughest one is the T-Rex because the only way to kill it is by shooting it at the eye.


Yes, humans can be a beast if they have a weapon in their hand but they will always be cautious if they know there a bigger beast that will knock them out if they behave like a prick. Same can be applied in Steemit, as much as they can post whatever they want like in other social media (Facebook,Twitter, etc) but they always try to follow the guidelines here set by senior Steemians and the early adopters. If they don't they might be flagged and it is hard for them to recover.

4)I don't think the picture is a clickbait but it is a fact that is well picturised to make common people understand about Steemit in a glance. Having said that, Can I use the picture whenever I promote about Steemit? Hehe.

That's all I want to share and sorry for the long comment.

Sort:  

In terms of user behaviour, I think the beta stage of Steemit is to conduct functional and usability testing. I get it why it is still in beta stage since the running capacity is still low. During this timeframe maybe Steemit Inc can collect data on user behaviour and take some action on it before they release the final version. Looking in a positive way, the whale war might be a good thing after all since it is happening during this stage. Imagine this happens after 100% capacity, things might get even ugly. We or maybe Steemit Inc might find a concrete solution to address the rewardpoolrape issue. Maybe I am being too optimistic.:)

Interesting, it's not something that I'm aware of if they're doing it or not. But I'm pretty sure it has been an on-going discussion and analysis. I think it's a good beta period since they removed posting limits and tried other extreme parameters (like from n^2 to linear).

Yes, humans can be a beast if they have a weapon in their hand but they will always be cautious if they know there a bigger beast that will knock them out if they behave like a prick. Same can be applied in Steemit, as much as they can post whatever they want like in other social media (Facebook,Twitter, etc) but they always try to follow the guidelines here set by senior Steemians and the early adopters. If they don't they might be flagged and it is hard for them to recover.

Generally it's harder to flag if I don't have a totally anon profile. That's for alt-accounts. But yup, I think the system works pretty well overall. It's just quite a "lossy" system.

Np for the long comment, thanks for the share. Feel free to use the image :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58