You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BTC hits $1,000 in India. How is this possible?

in #asksteem7 years ago

Maybe there just aren't that many people set up to take advantage of it, yet. You would need an Indian bank account, I assume, to retrieve the Indian currency from the exchange. I would guess the high % difference to reflect the lack of participants cashing in on the opportunity. Arbitrage opportunities being what they are you would think this can't last.

Sort:  

I suppose that's the explanation - there are very few people with accounts in both countries. However, with an opportunity this lucrative, I'd have expected traders to take the initiative and get it done. Like I said, it's been nearly three weeks now - no response.

Three weeks is a long time for such an opportunity to exist. I guess the costs involved in benefiting from it have kept it going. The other question too is - what level of volume exists in the Indian BTC market?

Excellent question. Sadly none of the exchanges here list overall volume over a period of time. However, one exchange, Coinsecure, is listing 50 BTC sell orders. That's the closest I can get to volume... It's still a fairly small market, but the price is real.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99