Is there a Steem IRC channel?

in #asksteem5 years ago

You may know that I hang out a lot at steem.chat. I seem to be one of the only ones left. I was practically the only one left like a year ago, and there are probably less people there now. I dunno if I'm waiting for someone to come back...or I just got used to going there. Perhaps I'm a creature of habit.

A lot of my old Steem friends were there. Many of them left...both Steem and Steem.chat...

I know I need a community...but they all use Discord for some reason. Discord sucks. Discord massively sucks. I don't know who designed that horrible place...but they have no sense of proper design. Even when discord is bustling it feels like you're alone. That place is horrible.

But, I actually like old style chats, including IRC. They're simple. Just a name and a box full of text from different names and different avatars. There's none of those spacing problems that discord has that make it look so weird.

There has to be a Steem IRC run by someone, right? IRC has everyone. Every project has an IRC. So where's Steem's?

Xaric_screen_shot.jpg
Xaric, a text-based IRC client, in use on Mac OS X. Shown are two IRC channels and a private conversation with the software author. (source)

Sort:  

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Not sure.. I can't recall seeing one.

Yeah, I havent been in steemit.chat more than a year. Discord sucked me in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16