[Single Guy Cooks on Sundays] CHICKEN KARAAGE FRIED RICE

in #asian6 years ago (edited)

B74C0FED-71E8-4EE3-9F7F-EB17A3432BAF.JPG

Downside of staying alone is that you have to settle your own meals, but! It also means you have total freedom to fix whatever bullshit cravings you have!

So normally on Sundays, I would try to find time to cook and fix my cravings (or with whatever I can find in my fridge) hence the title HAHA. Cooking and I have a love-hate relationship: I love making and experimenting with food, but it's the cleanup part that I hate.

Okay guys, so this Sunday I have this food hack to share with you, which is with this:

NIPPON PREMIUM NUTRIPLUS CHICKEN SERIES
IMG_1290.jpg

They're a series of frozen food from Nutriplus which takes on Japanese chicken cuisines, and claims to use "Japanese technology" to cook lah. I've tried almost every one of them, and the ones that I think are super awesome are the Karaage, Amakaraage, and Tebamoto Amakaraage. The meat are surprisingly juicy and tender, can't tell they were frozen! The rest like their katsu and stuffs are a little too dry for my liking.

Ok anyways I'm using the chicken Karaage today to make fried rice out of it. How? Well well well I'm glad you asked (assuming you did).

It's basically normal Chinese fried rice (with soy sauce that kind) with chicken Karaage in them, but instead of using normal seasonings and soy sauce, I'm using the sauce they have inside the frozen packet!
IMG_1311.JPG

I've tried the sauce (obviously) before this and the sauce is AMAZING, so I've decided to use it to fry my rice and the outcome is AMAZING TOO.

Okay to be clear, the chicken Karaage packet doesn't come with the sauce, I got mine from cooking my previous Amakaraage without cooking it with the sauce. Look out for the packaging (as i have pointed out above), it will say whether the pack comes with sauce or not. So you don't have to use the Karaage packet for this fried rice, any pack with sauce can substitute if you have no sauce prior to this.

I used this rice for my fried rice:
IMG_1295.jpg

As for the chicken, you fry them first before putting into your fried rice. I bake mine so that I don't use any extra oil for that, since the meat itself is cooked and has oil already (it's been processed).
IMG_1297.jpg
How it looks after being baked.

So I've got all my ingredients as below. I cooked my rice and baked the chicken, cut them into smaller pieces. Minced garlic, chilli (I love spicy food), mixed beans, and eggs. Cucumbers are for the side.
IMG_1298.jpg

So just mix everything together like how you would normally fry rice.
IN THIS ORDER: Garlic first, then mixed beans, chilli, egg, rice, the SAUCE, and some extra seasonings if you think it's not enough. Put the chicken last coz they're already cooked.

Et Voila!
506B33D1-F78B-4B79-8B0A-73F332643609.JPG

Then plate it with cucumber slices and coriander leaves for garnish (i know, you either love or hate coriander, I love it!) and some chopped up chilis.
139C39BB-9CB1-4AD1-83A8-05A68540068B.JPG
80D3ECE1-985E-4E93-A906-1F7DAC187AEF.JPG

Yum yum in my tum tum. Being Asian, I sure do love fried rice a lot!
Try and see, it's super easy, and maybe next Sunday I'll share another if I have time to cook!

Sort:  

Sunday and chicken always go along well.
Effort well spent dude :)

haha thanks! They always do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81