Backpacking Tour – South East Asia

in #asia6 years ago

IMG_5472 copy.jpg
Why I decided to Travel in a Backpacking Tour Group:

The decision to travel through South East Asia was a difficult one. The idea of being a solo female traveller in South East Asia did not sit very well with my family. The age-old tale of “everyone does it”, was not working either. I stumbled into a local travel agent one day whilst I was in town. After explaining my situation they recommended an organised backpacking tour group.
What is a Backpacking Tour Group:

There are hundreds or organisations that provide backpacking tour groups. Depending on the type of tour you want to do, they can differ in:

Length of time
Cost
Style of travel and accommodation
Age range between travellers

The Length of Time:

There are tours available for only 3 nights all the way through to 50 nights. The range available is incredible, there is a suitable time for everyone.
Cost:

The cost of tours varied depending on several factors. These include; the length of time, the area you are touring in, if you are sharing a room with someone, or if you would prefer your own room. How you travel to and from the different locations will also have an affect on the cost of the tour. Most tours (around South East Asia) use a combination of private minibuses and local trains to get around. The more expensive tours will opt to fly to different locations to add comfort and save time.
Style of Travel and Accommodation:

The style of travel and accommodation will mainly be determined by your budget. As money is usually a key factor in my trips I always opt for the budget option. By travelling by road or train you also get to see more of the country you are visiting. It also gives you new experiences that you wouldn’t get travelling by plane. One of my best experiences of this was travelling on a sleeper train through Vietnam. Up until that point, I had never been on a sleeper train, I had so many emotions running through me! I was both excited and nervous as I’ve read some really horrific stories about them.
Age Range of Travellers on Tours:

Again, depending on your personal circumstances you can find tours that are for the younger traveller (18-30-year-olds), and some for the older generation.
Where My Backpacking Tour Took Me:

I flew from Heathrow Airport London on my birthday (I was hoping to get an upgrade) to Ho Chi Minh Airport Vietnam. I met my tour group that evening over dinner and drinks. We spent around 2 weeks travelling through Vietnam, visiting Ho Chi Minh, Nha Trang, Hoi An, Hue, Hanoi, and Halong Bay.

Next on the list was Laos, we spent around 10 days travelling here. We visited Vientiane, Vang Vieng, Luang Prabang, and Pak Beng. Whilst travelling down the Mekong River we pulled over to a small village and stayed in a homestay – this was one of my highlight of Laos and 100% recommend it.

The final country on the itinerary was Thailand. The tour group continued travelling to Bangkok but I hopped off the tour at Chang Mai to spend a week in an elephant sanctuary.
Pros and Cons to Backpacking Tour Groups:

There is no right way to travel, the only way to travel is the way that works best for you. Having travelled both independently and with a tour group, I can appreciate their benefits and drawbacks.
Pros to Backpacking Tour Group:

The best thing about backpacking tour group is you get to visit a lot of places in a short amount of time. When you arrive at a new location you will be given a bit of background information about the area and what the highlights of the area are. You are informed of the best places to eat, how much you can expect to pay for things, the best activities to do in the area. The tour guide can even book the activities you are interested in so you know you will be getting a great deal.
All of the transport and accommodation are pre-organised. This takes out the headache of trying to find the best route in and out of a new location. You do not need to spend hours a week reading hostel reviews to find a semi-decent place to sleep.
You get to meet like-minded people instantly!
Even the basic accommodation is a great standard!
Due to the extensive itinerary, you get to visit a lot of places in a short period of time.
The cost of the tour includes everything apart from most of the meals and spending money.
There is security knowing that you will be looked after by a tour guide, especially as a solo female on my first trip.

Cons to Backpacking Tour Group:

As there is a set itinerary you have to move with the group (unless you do not wish to meet up with them again). This was my biggest worry feeling like I was rushed through the different locations and not getting a true feel for them. Fortunately, this only happened to me at one of the locations I wish I had another day to do all the activities available.
Tour groups are very expensive compared to budget backpacking.
You have to visit the places set out on the itinerary. Throughout my tour trip, there was only one time there was a place I wanted to visit but it was not on the itinerary.

Conclusion:

Backpacking tour groups are a great way to travel if you have limited time. Solo travellers or first time travellers will also benefit from the security and organisation of the trip. All you have to worry about is spending money and what delicious streetfood you will try next! Its a great way to kickstart a backpacking adventure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50