Ashtanga Third Series

in #ashtanga6 years ago

image

After some prodding from a friend who regularly practices fourth series, I started on third last night. I’ll still will be practicing second a LOT (and primary practice once a week)... but I’m excited about my new journey!

Sort:  

Its "Ardha Matsyendrasana" pose
The asana is named after the great yogi Matsyendranath. The name comes from the Sanskrit words ardha meaning "half", matsya meaning "fish", eendra meaning "king", and asana meaning "posture" or "seat".

benefits.
*Makes spine supple.
*Increases the elasticity of the spine.
*Opens the chest and increases the oxygen supply to the lungs

Except that she is doing the full pose with the leg in half lotus. Full means purna in Sanskrit, so this is Purna Matsyendrasana.

I’m a bad yogi. I don’t know a ton of Sanskrit. I think if I had a teacher where I was involved in called poses, I would know more. I could study this on my own (and I have many times- I know a lot of primary and second), but I’m more interested in the practice (inner and outer 😊).

Hehe a sinister yogini :) I started to learn a little sanskrit to get a little better understanding of yoga and life itself, and as i already speak three languages from the Indo-European family, it is easier for me to learn than Japanese for example :) Also I want to be able to read the yoga sutras in Sanskrit one day, there are so many interpretations and translations but I want to interpret and translate it my way :)

Thank you for correction.

Primary just once a week? That will be when I start practicing the sixth series which will be never :)

Once you are completing second, primary should be once a week. Granted, I’m of the mind: do as you please since this is YOUR practice!

Aah ok, so do I get this right, at the beginning when starting the second you do it once a week, building up to 5 times a week when completing?

Essentially yes, but do what feels right for you. Where are you in your practice?

Five years yoga, was a lot into handstandwork last year but started a regular ashtanga practice this year. I still struggle to maintain the routine😅

Beauty of ancient Indian Yogi's who lived on earth in 400 yrs lifespan

U going great sandy

That’s one of my favorite postures. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83