Busy In Whose Business?

in #asa6 years ago (edited)

download.jpeg
Image source: PxHere

Recently, I have been doing a lot of meditation. This has centered around my purpose in life and my reasons for doing things. I realise I'm not growing any younger so I have to plan a focus for myself.

One of the things that have interested me is the concept of being busy. Everyone is busy doing something. Everyone tells you to get busy. It seems the entire world places a premium on activity. I like that, as I'm a hyperactive person myself.

However, one thing I've come to ask is:

busy in whose business?

I mean, I understand we all have to be business but where we work, the endeavours we engage ourselves in also matter.

I Don't Want To Waste My Life

The reason I asked that question is because I'm scared. I worry that I've been spending my time doing the wrong things, making the wrong investments.

Perhaps this is just adulthood catching up on me, like a phase that would past soon. I don't think so though. I believe this is something I have to take very seriously.

I want my life to count for something.. I'm not talking about building legacies and all that (although I wouldn't mind). I'm talking about having something I stand for. I want to be someone I can relate to; someone I can define.

Purpose Versus Atheism

I call myself a Christian-Atheist (It's a long story). In any debate, I readily identify myself as a Atheist.

Atheism isn't exactly compatible with purpose - in the larger sense of the word. Purpose indicates design, design implies a creator. Atheism wants nothing to do with a creator.

Of course, I can get around this by appealing to the 'Christian' in me. I could say I believe in some larger purpose but not in a God. Unfortunately, this doesn't help.

I guess I don't have a solution for my predicament. This is something that features regularly in my meditations. I'm not bothered though. I believe that the act of thinking about a problem is a feat in its self. At the very least, it's better than doing nothing.

Besides, I'm only human. I don't have all the answers. Do you have an answer for me?

Sort:  

Continue to practice meditation, and to dedicate your meditation to the good of all living beings, purpose will appear by itself.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

You write excellently well, Gray. Would you mind contributing a post per week to @steemitcentral and get rewarded with more upvotes? If yes, let me know.

Gladly!

Thanks a lot for the opportunity

I'm grateful

My pleasure. Please look me up on Discord - @gandhibaba.

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72