Second Post Or 'Where I started arting and where I think I'll go'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #artzone6 years ago

At first I thought to write about this piece but there's not much behind the thought-process:

pez-ajolote.png
Called pez-ajolote... which means axolotl-fish

I just started to move the hand, throw colors here and there thinking in a sky and maybe water or sea...

I actually have some process pics... I'll make a gif... here it is:

pez-ajolote.gif

I usually use photoshop for drawing/painting. All last year I used the photochops. But this one was made in another application called Artrage. I made it in that app because I wanted to re-try the tools it has. I practically just used one... the knife tool for this... sketch.

This artrage app is supposed to emulate traditional tools like:

tools.png

When I started to take seriously to make digital art, I bought a wacom tablet (which I still use today) and that app (which is cheap like ~50 bucks the latest version), although the vision of the art I wanted to make was not really clear.

I like a lot anime, but I was exposed to some digital paintings and concept art and those also inspired me.

My first "digital painting" with a wacom (although I have a few made like 10 years earlier with an app called open canvas and with mouse! But dunno where the files are) was this thingy:

flamok kishin imprudencia.jpg
Lolz made this in jun-2012

I wanted to make something but I didn't know how to, I had the vision in my head but lacked skills, I've never practiced, I had no mileage nor any kind of theory or knowledge of colors, value, contrast. I used to draw until 14 or 15, I was not bad but dropped it and I just hit frustration-wall when re-taking drawing digitally many years later. How can one recover years wasted?... One can not. I had to cope with it and start from practically zero.

At that time I was also involved in making electronic music, I wanted to illustrate those tracks and the art was heavily influenced by the music I was creating... very weird musix.

That idea above a year later turned into this:

Screen Shot 2019-01-29 at 11.46.02 PM.png
I left it unfinished

Throughout this year I made these:

topacio no kokoro.jpg
Jul-2012

aj naran.jpg
Aug-2012

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.11.50 AM.png
Jun-2013

In 2013 I started to make tee-shirts with a friend, that period of my life spawned the following (all made in same artrage app) designs:

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.17.46 AM.png
Batman fan-art

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.19.37 AM.png
Zelda's

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.20.14 AM.png
Resident evil's

And this one that came up pretty cool and was supposed to illustrate our brand haha. It was called 'OldMecha'

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.23.34 AM.png
OldMecha

It was a word-game in spanglish: Old Mecha sounds a bit like Olmeca (the ancient civilization of Olmecs). That's why the head is like an Olmec head and the rest is an old... mecha.

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.27.12 AM.png
A zoom to the OldMecha head

After that I retake the making of illustrations for my tracks, I had five tracks I wanted to depict visually and I made an effort to do 'finished' pieces. In chronological order:

Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 12.32.40 AM.png

topacio no kokoro.png

personal-galactogenesis.jpg

heg kan cv.png

preteritum  abandonare.png

The thing with these pieces is that I feel they're so uptight, I enjoyed painting them but it took me too much time and struggle to made them, partially because I had no mileage and partially because I was aiming for a 'finished' look. That struggle and tension I think is transmitted to the viewer.

Now, I like and enjoy doing much more sketchy, painterly, 'unfinished', expressive 2D art. Drawings that hint instead of resolving any bit of information to the viewer. Art where you can see brushstrokes that seem fun to make. Paintings that left something to imagination rather than being super crispy and polished. Is kind of contradictory in a sense because I also made 3D art and when sculpting/modelling I tend to do lot of details, but that stuff will be for another post.

That's why I returned to the app artrage, now that I have a couple of EXP points up and a vision of the art I want to make, I think it could be a valuable and refreshing tool.

This is a recent painting I did for @loreshapergames:


Full res

Is way more relaxed and enjoyable I think.

I'll try to make future posts more relaxed and enjoyable too haha -_- ...

PS If you know any tag I could use other than art, artzone, drawing and animation please suggest to me some. I also used games in this one...

Sort:  

It's cool to be able to see how you have grown as a person over the years - you can really see your artwork change with you.

I do like the more 'sketchy' or 'unfinished pieces', like you call them more than the almost perfect ones.
It's obvious these ladt ones were created for a big part from within your head, while the sketchy ones are made from the heart.

Now, you did make me curious about what kind of electronic music you used to make. :0)
I really like the idea of illustrating tracks. I'm into electronic music myself (listening, not making) and I often thought about how cool it would be if I would have any artistic skills that would allow me to express a track I was listening to...

Unfortunately, I'm not blessed with any artistic skills - only those of a 4 year-old, lol

4 year-old ones have the most fun when drawing or expressing in an artistic way, although they may lack in experience and finesse. If I'm honest with you I'm in pursuit of having fun as a 4 year old when painting, and at the same time make quality stuff and maybe satisfy a client. There's this contemporary painter called Marco Bucci, if you see his work you'll see that he lets his inner child to handle most of the painting without sacrificing quality.

As for the music you can hear most of what I made here... if you want ;)

Thanks for your words!

So much beautiful work here!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Many thanks!

Amazing post! I like reading your artistic journey and looking at the artworks you created in the different period of your development :).

The last one is really nice, I like dysutopian scifi art a lot ^_^.

Thanks! Sadly all my very firsts drawings are lost in time... The ones I made when I was a kid. I'd love to see them. I remember when in 2nd grade of elementary school some kids used to buy my tiny toon's drawings for .5 MXN of that time hahaha.

Absolutely loved this post! :)
Upvote + Resteem, Follow ;)

Fabulous art! I especially like the second to the last one. Thanks for sharing here! :)

Thanks! I'll be sharing everything I have and things I'll be doing along the way. I hope in a more steady pace :)

Hahah thanks :D Magic is life itself... Sometimes.

What a talent you have! I'm not going to call out my favourite as I'd change my mind every time I looked. Keep on doing what you do. Also, the write up was very entertaining. It's great to read your thought process behind the images, much appreciated.

Thanks! Glad you liked the reading. Hopefully I'll learn to express myself better when writing these.

I think you did a great job with the write up and looking forward to seeing/reading more

Dear Artist @znkd ! Welcome to Steemit ! Take a look at the FineArtNow Project ! The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! Become our Friend ! See you soon !

I'll take a peep sure thing. See you around :D

Totally speechless. Your skills are awe-inspiring <3 <3 <3

Haha naaahhh, you're too kind :)

Good job! You're so talented.

Danke schön Ting Ting!

I was thinking that more than talent, is: patience, time, work, study and learning from failure. And discipline! Which I really... really lack haha. Also I think that I will never feel like I'm there you know... I'll always feel there's room for improvement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00