Re-discovering Drawing

in #artzone6 years ago

As a child, drawing faces and eyes were really the only thing I was interested in doing. And although it's been decades since I picked up a pencil to do a face, this came back to me just like it was yesterday (with more mature perspective) which is kind of mind-blowing. Just sitting there all this time....dormant. So, how could my 'eye' mature without drawing in all that time?

The eyes have always been my favorite part of drawing a face. I have no idea if this is the proper way or not to start but once I capture that 'essence' in the eyes, the drawing becomes a living being that I am interacting with. It was like that as a child and apparently that feeling is still there as I try to re-capture my love for drawing again.

I also never know what this person will end up looking like which is another reason I truly love drawing faces - it's like watching a really good movie and being impatient to see what the ending will be like but enjoying all the scenes in between - and then almost by magic, it just seems to come together to my astonishment.

This particular drawing was done for the IFC Championship post. It was something that I wanted to do although I had no clue if what was in my head could be translated to a drawing.

I started with the eye and was pleasantly surprised that it looked like...well, an EYE!

Somebody didn't like my attention going toward drawing

"What drawing??!" purrrr "I see no drawing."

"ME, ME, ME ME-OW! Me kitty butt is on your eye! FEED ME, LOVE ME...just don't pet me."

Mina was, by far, the most difficult obstacle in this drawing. No cat naps?

"I'm back!"

When sitting on my drawing wasn't effective enough for Mina, she resorted to grabbing my pencil with both paws and fighting me over it. And when I had to leave for a minute to do something else, I had to cover my drawing and put all my pencils up because she'd push them all off the table onto the floor. LOL She didn't do this with any other drawing, just this one. Wonder what was going through her mind?

But eventually, I managed to make headway. The key was having Mina visit with one of the boys while I was drawing :)

And there she is!


Next....draw the impossible! HANDS! I had to draw hands if I was going to be releasing a bird in this drawing. Hmmmmm

Let me tell you, the hands kicked my butt. Learning on the fly.

With some careful shading, it started to come together - my first attempt at drawing hands and I DID IT!

All drawings were created using GRAPHITE and are original works

Sort:  

I have the same trouble with fur babies. Cats especially seem drawn to anything creative. The dogs are brutes who just like to disrupt any activity at all.
I envy your ability with the shading. Especially around the nose. I have never been able to do a good nose. Every few years I will give it a go.
Your work is fantastic so life like.

Oh that is so funny, @headchange. I thought it was just Mina ;) She is slightly spoiled - my fault, I'm sure.

Thank you for the compliment. It's really strange about the shading. I've been told that I see my subject different than most people. I see in shadow and light and work from the shadows first. To go the other way really messes with my head like I have dyslexia or something....and then color is really challenging for me. I can duplicate color exactly, but to choose color for a drawing....it is just very challenging. Some people are really fabulous with color. Maybe it's a matter of experience....I just got some inks and watercolors to push me out of my black and white safe place ;)

Yes, noses are hard....I remember when I was maybe 11 I started stepping back and examining a nose say in a magazine - away from my drawing and separate - the key to me was to start with the nostrils (subtly) and then use shading like you are sculpting with clay and your highlighting is like that tool to carve the clay. I know that is a weird way of explaining but that is what helped me with noses ;) I'm going to have to do some study of hands more though - haha! That was very hard!

You are so good!!! 🙌🏻 I wish I could draw like that, my drawings look like hmmn how will I describe it nah nevermind I cant even explain how it looks haha 😆 Geez really this is so goooood @youhavewings!!!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much, @twodorks :)

LOL! Oh, I've seen your creativity at work - you are quite talented. Mixed media!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by youhavewings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

such a dramatic drawing! And a nice cat!

Thank you so much, @postosun

The drawing was for a heavy topic post, so your description fits nicely

Have a beautiful day

Without reference? Nicely done mate. :)

Thank you, @nazirullsafry

I used many references very loosely for inspiration - my technique seems to be to throw them all out on the table to invoke a feeling:

15626250_10211985683305702_7952184072977361074_o.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

very beautiful and realistic drawings, both of them ! and your cat is very adorable.... even though a little attention-hungry :D

i love the composition and the light and dark spaces in the first drawing, you have created such beautiful drama with a simple but elegant composition <3

and the second one is also gorgeous in its arrangement, making wonderful use of negative space to create focus and narrative <3

i love these <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much, @veryspider

Your comment was so very helpful to me! Thank you for taking the time to give me such useful feedback. Really helpful.

Have a beautiful day!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This are very good drawings, quite good mastery of pencil shading and shapes
👏👏👏 🎉🎉🎉

Thank you so much, @melooo182 :)

Awesome eye. The cat is so cute <3

Thank you so much, @ivan-g And awesome origami to you! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76