"Engine" Original drawing

in #artzone6 years ago

Hello there, sexy people!

Another day passing by. I'm still here, drawing stuff. Trying to keep myself busy. Finally, finished the drawing that I showed you guys around a week ago. Around a kilo of graphite later, here it is, the engine. It was really fun to do that.
Usually, I try to make a reference with a real object and to put it in the context of the message that I want to send out. But sometimes I just start drawing in the middle of the paper sheet. Just random lines. Started with the grill in the middle, and then extended the whole thing while keeping the radial pattern. The sad part was that I had no space on the canvas to make it fully radial. But that's why we have digital media. I just came back with the scanned drawing, cause my phone camera is... Crappy
Here it is tho

Engine value fix.jpg

The only things that I took from the real world are the pressure counter, the fan, and the bolts. When I'm creating surreal pieces I try to make the mechanisms and the constructions look like that they can actually do some kind of work. But when you start with random lines, sometimes this is kind of hard... Once again it took me more time to figure out the details than to actually draw and render them. Today I woke up really early, 5 am. My plan was to finish it today... Started drawing with H2 pencil, staring at the paper really hard, drawing again, staring, drawing... Then filled the background in order to make the whole thing pop more. Going to try to add some sort of really soft abstract details on those places... We'll see. After that did the shading and some last minute fixes cause i had to got to the grocery store... That's another story.

powerbanger.jpg

I have a new hobby, guys, collecting small, short, cute baby pencils. I have thrown out so many of these, but today I made had an idea, I will collect them, and when I have enough, I will glue them together and frame them. Not sure what this will look like, nor how I will place them. But it will be cool! I promise!


Tools used: H2 to B8 graphite pencil, A4 sheet of printing paper

If you like my art, please follow me on:
Sola; Facebook; Artstation; Deviantart; Behance;Patreon; Instagram and Twitch

You can own part of my artworks in the Ethereum blockchain Here

ancient one Gray2.jpg

https://makersplace.com/store/nikolaykrastev/

Sort:  

A kilo of graphite.... lol

It was probably close, it is rather unique, and I could see it actually doing some form of work. It has a bit of a steampunk feel, and it's on the steem blockchain so why not. lol, it did a pretty good job as a steem engine for you steem wallet, thanks to that curie vote. I going to have to give you a follow just so I can try to catch the rest of the pieces as it comes together.

Heh! Pretty cool wordplay there! I always try to simulate some sort of work capability in my drawings. Moving, doing some sort of productive work is a reason why we are here :P Thank you!

You must have a great imagination to draw something like this. It's amazing how detailed it is. Congratulations, excellent job!

I have a new hobby, guys, collecting small, short, cute baby pencils.

Hahaha, this sounds funny but I'd love to see the outcome, the result :D I know someone who's making mandala painting and using paper cloth to clean his brushes and once he had framed that paper cloth and sold it. Can you imagine? :)
Anyway, I have to ask you something and please don't take it the wrong way, it's pure curiosity. Why are all artist sharpening their pencils with a knife? is that better is that an artist thing? Could never figure it out :)

Thank you, Erika!
The next step is to get it in photoshop and get some pixels wrecked...
I will definitely create an article the baby pencils.
For the sharpening... It depends on the purpose of the pencil, for example, you have an 8B pencil in your hand, really soft graphite. If you sharpen that with normal sharpener you will need to do it again in 5 minutes or less, especially if you put pressure on it to get darker values. Also, you get more coverage with knife sharpened pencils because the surface of the tip is longer. If you decrease the angle of the tip to the paper you get broader strokes. I use knife to shapen my soft graphite pencils, for hard pencils like 2H or H, I can use the normal sharpener cause we're not using these as much. Not all artists use a knife. Allen Williams uses the Boston sharpener. It's a personal thing. For now, this works for me, but if I get my hand on one of these Boston things I would definitely use it. :P
as you can see on the second picture, one of the pencils is not manually sharpened :P

I thought this is the case with the knife sharpening, it makes perfect sense but wasn't sure. Thank you for the detailed reply and looking forward to your article about the baby pencils :)

No problem, Erika!
Right now I have 5 baby pencils only. The collection will grow as my drawing stacks grow. So, i have to push myself i guess :P

ohhh .. sexy mechanical curves !
nice to meet you @svdsdragunov

It's all about the sexy curves, mate!
Nice to meet you too, Monk!

Hello back to you super sexy @svdsdragunov ;-) 😃

Now we are getting serious again. I see a fantastic piece of art 👍

Really awesome job mate. Keep on with the drawing !
Im very excited to see how your glue pencil project will look like :-)

Thank you very much, mate! If I stop drawing... I'm probably dead, call someone to check me out if I stop posting bullshit drawings :D
It will take a while to collect enough pencils :P

Wow i think you are an amazing artist @svdsdragunov love this piece of work
Looks amazing

Thank you very much, but I'm just another fish in the barrel. As one cool man said once.

Thank you, Vase! I do my best! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Love it, dragu ! The design is so intricate and well constructed <3 Love your style, as always, your attention to details is second to none ! Wonderful creativity <3

Thank you, Spidey! I can't wait until I have the time to digitalize it! It will be EPIC!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

howdy from Texas svdsdragunov! sir you must be so patient to work on something so detailed and precise! I think it really looks like an engine, are you a mechanic?
lol. love the idea of gluing your tiny pencils together, that will be a very unique piece indeed! thank you sir.

Hello there!
Patience is maybe the only positive thing that I have :D
No, I have my hands a bit in industrial design and engineering. But that's not the main card that plays a role in my works.
It will take a while to collect as many pencils as I need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68