Banner taken from the fire (Process)

in #artzone5 years ago

When they asked me to do this job, a part of me said "Don't fuck me, fuck you, don't even think about doing it" but between that I felt disgusted, divided between what I thought; rather, I think daily, that I do nothing to profit with my life, I decided to take it and take a risk, as in Spain they say "Take the chestnuts out of the fire".


The work was for a hotel that is in the center of the city where I live, I went, I spoke with the person in charge of telling me what the hotel wanted of my abilities, so to speak, accept, they gave me the cards to do it, last a little without doing it since he did not have the measures, when he had the measures it would be when he could begin to measure what was going to be inside, the letters, the words and so on.



I started with the main thing, I do not know exactly how to explain it but I will try my best, in the image of the beginning where the banner is seen the frame, then, the “main” cardboard was what I started, it took me a few times to do it that fit completely, it entangled me a few more, after all I did it, take out “the chestnuts from the fire”. I did the same procedure in the lower part, take the measurement of the cardboard, take out half of it, count the letters of each word and depending on that, take the measurements of each of the letters, both wide and long Isn't it so bad at all?




With a ruler, carefully, mark with a marker the most rigid lines of some of the letters, as you can see in the image, I did it with all, and then highlight the others that had curved lines, to fill them completely with black marker.



Fill in the best I could without disfiguring any of the letters, the typography I used was "Helvetica" as it was the most impersonal that could be chosen, I feel it was at least a good choice and the letters do not look so bad.



The next thing was to make the labels, one by one, these could say that it was a lot easier, since it was a series of repetitions, they were repeating the same measurements, the same letters and the occasional one that was different as an “x” but from the rest, they were the same consonants and vowels, repeating itself over and over again.



But not everything was rose-colored, there were many times that I was wrong and I had to start again, it cost me a clogged nerve and several nights without sleep, I spent almost 18 hours sitting in the same place, measuring, highlighting letters and erasing the lines pencil, since we are at the moment of errors, we all know that I already delivered the work, because, apart from measuring poorly in some parts, in letting the other marker pass, I was not paid or not yet, problems of adults who they stress me and leave me wanting to never be one of them.




After all, on a Saturday at 8 in the morning, I had finished it, everything was done, it was quite stressful, shedding a lot of tears of stress, anger and self-deception, many feelings together that caused me to become a sincere chaos that could finish this work, get the chestnuts out of the fire, find me the way to do it and achieve it, I want to believe that writing these words will help me realize that if I can do it and that it doesn't matter or that I believe in myself, something very much in the deep down, she knows that I can and pushes me to do it.



The last thing was that edge of curved lines, I painted it in red wine color so that it combined with the rest of the restaurant, I made the color myself, since I did not get any color that was already made and could work for it.



I felt extremely relieved to give the work to the lady, I felt finally free of that commitment, for the moment I just feel frustrated and a little, say, disgusted but that is another matter, in the end, if I finish it, I gave and apparently, many liked and not only my mother.


I hope you liked the post, that you enjoyed it and that you are encouraged to comment on this post, what do you think, if you have any suggestions, I assure you that I will read you with all the attention and affection.

If you want to go through my Instagram to see a little more of my content, here I will leave it:

Instagram

Goodbye guys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63