My most recent painting 'Sky'

in #artzone5 years ago

Hello all, here is a painting that I finished last week. I've been working on it for the last five weeks in Autumn Skye Morrison's class at VAVA. Can you spot the hidden faces?

Sky.JPG
'Sky', acrylic on canvas, 50cm x 40cm

Also here are some progress shots I wanted to share with you.

IMG_0361.jpg
First I created a chaotic background to help induce pareidolia and mapped ideas with chalk.

46508500_2064572430519779_1691920074685808640_o.jpg
And a shot of me at work once the main elements had taken shape.

If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate it if you leave me a comment, upvote or resteem.
You can follow me @philjoannides to see more of my work in the future and I invite to have a look at the paintings I've already shared.

For inquiries about purchasing paintings or prints you can contact me at [email protected]

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

It's great that you started this artwork from the chaotic background. I bet this painting would look even better if I see it in real, and maybe I will be able to spot the hidden face as well. I like the scene that you painted here, the washed colours and the perfect sun look quite disturbing, which I find wonderful ^_^.

Thank you @scrawly , I'm glad you like it.

At first sight it looks like a photo that's impressive. excellent paint friend. Greetings from Venezuela.. of course you got my upvote

Thank you @wisejg ! I really appreciate it!

Congratulations @philjoannides! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey @philjoannides, you painted such a beautiful sky. Painted with chalk was new to me. The chalk powder would fade away, so i very curious how you used the chalk in your drawing. And you very creative as well by using chalk. Hmm, the faces is it hidden in the sun light? I love how you painted the sunlight and the faces as cloud. It so natural and beautiful. You must be involved in drawing many years , am I right?

@oliviackl Thank you! I only used the chalk to brainstorm ideas on the canvas during the early stages, either painting over the chalk or wiping it off with a wet cloth. It's cool because you can drastically change how the painting looks in seconds and then just wipe it off if you don't think its working. Autumn Skye Morrison taught me that trick. I have been painting for about four years. :)

That's cool @philjoannides. Now I love the idea of using chalk. But if you cover your painting with chalk, won't your color fall off because chalk could easily wipe or fall out. Wow, you must be very talent in art, four years with such fantastic result.

There is no chalk in the final painting, its just for sketching on the canvas. Either the chalk gets painted over with acrylic if I like sketch or wiped away if I don't.

Ah thanks for explaining it. Silly me i thought you paint on top of chalk 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I see a baby ghost in the top right corner but no faces :D

This is probably the best painting of sun that I've ever seen. It looks like you would be looking through a lens. And those pink/purple-ish clouds are so pretty. They look so soft and fluffy :)

I also like the trees. It looks like a real forest :)

Thank you for sharing!

Haha, that's awesome! :D
Thank you, I'm really glad you appreciate my work.

I love the wispy cloud ghosts and...yep there are faces around the sun, I'm not going insane XD The magic eye start is also pretty cool, though pareidolia took forever to kick in for me, if that had been an environment I was lost in I would have totally missed any potential hazards XD

@ryivhnn Cheers! I do hope ghosts don't try to sneek up on you XD

They're generally too atmosphere changing to sneak up on anything XD

I see many faces around the sun @philjoanides 😉 you're such a great painters and you what! Done the based with chalk 😨 never knew any friends of mine did something like that before . You're so cool...👍👍👍👍 and congrats for the @curie picks too.

Wish you continued success and keep steeming😉

@cicisaja Thank you, you're very kind.

Because you're exceptional... I like it and I only comment nicely when I'm happy.. and I'm happy when I see your clouds.

Hi philjoannides,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow I can see the faces, this is very original <33
It is the most perfect sky I have seen in a painting, I loved that technique you used using a white chalk .. Excellent work friend, your painting is truly beautiful, a big hug @philjoannides !!

@naideth Thank you so much! :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94