You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I paint comics: The Techno-Templar #43 (+Details)

in #artzone5 years ago

Hmmm so what's the difference between European format and Soft cover? Is europan one the hard cover? Anyway, those graphics are amazing! So when you self publish, does that mean you just pay it all yourself?How many pieced did you print then? And do you sell them or it's just for family/friends as e.g Christmas presents? I was never into this type of comic books but I looooove manga! Read naruto and bleach :)

Sort:  

Thanks @matkodurko for commenting and questionning!

European format is usually DIN A4 (8,2 x11,8 in). Around 54 pages and indeed mostly hard cover. That makes them quite expensive so it's a tough passion to cope with when you're young. Soft covers are sometimes still used from new projects with not too many copies involved. If you go over 3000 copies in one batch, you might consider using hardcovers.

In my case, self-publishing was with my personal saving but mostly with various successful crowdfundings. In total I printed and sold till today around 1500 books (of that Devlok's story), including French and English versions over book 1 and 2. A big part is already presold through the crowdfundings and the rest I sell online, in a few physical shops but mainly in fairs and other art related events.

Mangas are great, the Japanese really quickly came with their own narrative and graphic style. My favorites are Akira, Ghost in the Shell and BLAME!

Oh nice, 1500 is quite a lot. I was prepared you reply maybe 200 hundreds and I'll somehow have to get out of saying it's not many hahaha :D but 1500 really is nice. And I believe that hardcover is expensive. I just paid freaking 100+ dollars for 2 copies of my Master thesis haha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84