All at Sea, What's to See

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)


I finally made it back to the paint! If possible these days, I'm selecting images that after being rendered in pencil, will translate well into a painting. Thus it's two birds with one stone (the Germans say, two flies with one clap), I'm putting time in on improving my drawing and studies of colour values and making a study drawing for the painting. I've in essence practised the image before I paint it.



"Marooned Mariner", Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas

I do feel this drawing practise indeed made a difference with my handling of of the values in this image. My eye is starting to understand the rages of value and I'm becoming more conscious of it. Of late I have been putting much time into studying the approaches to this. It is now becoming apparent to me where I have been making my mistakes in the past. Now when habit has me wandering off on my merry way, my attention is starting to snap back to the overall image an not be led astray with the details. As they say, the Devil is in the details. How true that is when it comes to drawing and painting.

With this image, I was starting from a black and white image as a reference and using secondary references for the colour. It is quite a challenge trying to colourise an image as naturally as possible. It has been frustrating me for a long while now, but, I think the regular challenge and the forced practice is starting to bear fruits. I'm feeling more confident in my colour decisions.

The next couple of paintings will see me working from colour references, and thus make the process easier and quicker. But this will also help me out when I choose the next grey scale image.

There's more coming soon to a Steemit post in your feed soon.


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

It's also two flies un finnish! :)

I am constantly amused by the differences in these little sayings to express a larger idea. Maybe there are plagues of flies in Finland and Germany, or, the flies are slower there. In English, its to kill two birds with one stone.

What an awesome painting! Anatomy and shading is really stunning :D

Thank you Sander!

Beautiful, @leoplaw <3 I think studying everything from the ground up gives your figures a very convincing realism <3 I have said it before, but I love how you capture the twist and taut of the human bodies <3 This one is especially fine. The tone and values shifting throughout the torso and the legs are beautifully achieved <3

The dark sea gives a very subdued but potent mood to the finish <3

Thank you @veryspider! I have a level of finish to the artwork that I am aiming for, but need to put in much more practice yet. I must admit that on these smaller paintings I am not going as far as I could with the polish, I keep that more for the larger works.

I saw this on Artzone and it's absolutely amazing. I barely can believe this started on a practice drawing and for study purposes. it is well done. I like it a lot.

Thank you @faffy! The practice drawing helped out with the painting.

@leoplaw nice art as usual! Strong color reference concept. Upvote to support

Thank you @miss.kat! Upvote back.

I really do love the sculptural quality of your work.

I love that: Two flies one clap, makes so much sense!

Thank you Donna! I guess if you're really good, you could do three flies or more in one clap. ;-)

I love the realistic colors and shades !
Superb! Magnificent work! Well done

Thank you @ykdesign! Glad you like it.

Hello @leoplaw, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46