The Friends, an oil painting.

in #artzone6 years ago

LES-AMIS.jpg

Two friends sitting on the ghats (riverfront steps) by the Ganges river in India. Those who are familiar with the beliefs and practices of Hinduism know that the River Ganga is the most sacred river for Hindus. People strive to make a pilgrimage to the banks of the river and immerse themselves in its waters believing that whoever does so will be rid of their sins and achieve liberation. Some of the oldest temples and pilgrimage destinations for Hindus are located on its banks.

The Ganga is also the mother, the Ganga Mata (Mata="mother") of Hindu worship and culture, accepting all and forgiving all. Unlike other goddesses, she has no destructive or fearsome aspect.

These two women are old friends and know each other so well that a long silence between the is not uncomfortable. They are outside of space and time.

From the unforgettable Indian writer and philosopher, Rabindranath Tagore:

The Ganges again! Again those ineffable days and nights, languid with joy, sad with longing, attuned to the plaintive babbling of the river along the cool shade of its wooded banks. This Bengal sky-full of light, this south breeze, this flow of the river, this right royal laziness, this broad leisure stretching from horizon to horizon and from green earth to blue sky, all these were to me as food and drink to the hungry and thirsty. Here it felt indeed like home, and in these I recognized the ministrations of a Mother.

A close-up of the face on the right:
friends-portrait.jpg

The underpainting:
ghats-underpainting.jpg

I like to work on my underpaintings before introducing figurative content, a process which allows me to explore freely before nailing down my composition. Of course, I know what narrative I intend to introduce and keep it in mind as I play with form, space, and color.

My website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Comments are always welcome. Hope you enjoy my post.

Sort:  

Nice and beautiful painting

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Beautiful message and very rich colours, as your usual style, Kathleen <3 Gorgeous work * ___ *

upvotes

This post has received a 1.39 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @kathleenscarboro.

@kathleenscarboro wow..This is very valuable, your work is very good. success friends

So glad you like it. Thank you.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5900 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • For Smartcash users send 1 SMART + post link as DM to @abasinkanga on discord
  • Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5800 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • For Smartcash users send 1 SMART + post link as DM to @abasinkanga on discord
  • Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

An absolutely stunning piece of art, as always.
I love your attention to detail, and the colours! Oh how I would love something like that in my kitchen...

I do sell giclée prints, on canvas, of my paintings. I can get one for you for 180 euros, roll it up and mail it. I should probably look into getting cheaper reproductions made - posters, for example. I am working on a book project with an Indian writer which will probably take some time to come to fruition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26