Progress of an oil painting, sneak peek.

in #artzone6 years ago

detail-april2018.jpg
Here is a detail of my current painting in progress of a little Indian girl after the first layer of oil glazing.

I like to start my paintings in acrylic, which gives me the possibility to "find" my composition and develop my color scheme. Acrylic dries almost instantly and allows for constant changes. When I feel good about my layout, I move on to working in transparent oil glazes.

The acrylic stage:
march20-2018-web.jpg

Oil paint is of great interest to me because it remains fluid and transparent for hours, allowing for subtle color harmonies and depth. It also creates saturated rich color if there are enough layers of glaze. Extremely time consuming, but totally worth the effort.

To get the effects I want, I will do a minimum of another two oil glazes, perhaps more on the figure. Oil paint becomes more transparent as it dries, so once the painting looks finished, I always add one more glaze to assure there will be no sinking of color and density over time.

Sort:  

Upvoted!!! I am a Curation-Bot and Front-Run all Bid-Bots used to promote this post.

Thank you helpful bot.

Thumbs up 👍. Your paintings is excellent

Thank you @meritigbunu, so glad you like it!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thank you for posting @kathleenscarboro.

Lovely detailed work with movement and colourful interest.

The scale is perfection.

All the best.

Cheers.

great process - my friend Benedetto Fellin works in a similar way. ..... and I would too, if I just could overcome my allergy to oil paint mediums.
upvoted, resteemed and shared
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/980807491788464129

Thank you Otto. I like your friend's paintings, his color and draperies are so lovely. Actually I have a friend who uses essence of lavender in her oil painting medium instead of turpentine; I could get her recipe if you like.

This painting is mind blowing! You got the attention of @artzone curators!!

Thank you, it should get better as I move forward with it.

And the winner announcement post brings me here :)

Thank you @nanosesame. Glad you like it.

You know I do different thematics but I do really like your technique, the final result is stunning, shows great skills and patience (something that's rare today)! And I find super interesting that you "start" with acryl then after with oil. I also respect a lot what's done with time. "Time doesn't respects what's done without it" my dad who was a gardener repeated. ;)

Thank you @haedre. Yes acrylic is great for throwing things around until you decide what you want. Then the oil enhances. I had a fabulous teacher and still feel like in a way he paints through my hands.

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 5600 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • For Smartcash users send 1 SMART + post link as DM to @abasinkanga on discord
  • Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

Liked and followed! I love the sneak peak!

Thank you @nerdgasmic. Your support is much appreciated.

i love the hair in this. so vibrant. following!

Thank you @openmindopen. The flowing hair helps us to feel the wind...I enjoy your drawings too, and your job as tree planter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55