"Soolovepat" | Digital Painting with Process TimelapsesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #artzone6 years ago

Hiya Steemians! Hope you're all plowing full-steem ahead and having an awesome day :)

Today I bring to you another sketcharoo hot off the iPad (seriously my iPad was heating up quite a bit while making this). It's a piece based on a gorgeous photo of "Soolovepat". I must say I seriously enjoyed tweaking the lighting. It's nothing like how it looked in the reference photo. I feel like that blue under-glow really added a mystical touch to the scene. Let me know what you think! Also are you enjoying my more sketchy/painterly style I've been doing recently? It's honestly been so fun to play around with. Hope I can keep developing it into something really awesome over time!

Reference photo/Soolovepat's insta: https://www.instagram.com/p/BeZc2jSFWWI


SOOLOVEPAT

 

>ENLARGE IMAGE<


PROCESS TIMELAPSE

 


Let's have a blast together, follow me! :D
Sort:  

Just came across your profile & absolutely love this piece.

I hope that in time, you gain the appreciation on Steem that you deserve (especially when you see some of the "art" being rewarded more).

Good luck :)

Thanks so much, I can't say I don't hope so too ;)

Well, this certainly earned you an instant follow after I saw you resteemed by @vermillionfox!

I DO really like the painterly style here, and it's something I'm really wanting to get into digitally. What do you recommend for learning the basics of digital painting? I know how to draw, sight, keep things relatively accurate in regard to proportion, etc. but as far as making things softened, I'm pretty clueless. I'd like to add this kind of art to my currently very limited output some day.

edit: Just saw the reference photo. You really made this one your own, which highlights the creativity that can be put into works like this.

Thanks for all your awesome feedback! Gets me super motivated haha.. If you wanna get into digital painting, the main difference between it and traditional art is learning how to use the software. Some programs I've used in the past and would definitely recommend considering are:

  1. Photoshop - subscription plan, but arguably the best all-round option.
  2. Clip Studio Paint - one time payment and built from the ground-up specifically for digital painting.
  3. Procreate - my personal favourite for iPad (another notable one is Sketchbook Pro).
  4. PaintTool SAI - probably the best free option out there for PC.

The other big decision right at the start is deciding how much money you want to put into your drawing device. Wacom has a line of amazing tablets that are relatively cheap called the "Intuos" series. They get the job done super well and plenty of professionals use them. Otherwise there are the more pricey options with built-in screens like the Cintiq, or if you're looking for a more convenient/on-the-go device, an iPad Pro. But I really don't see any need to spend thousands of dollars on a crazy fancy tablet other than personal preference...

After you've got all the tools, you'll needa learn how to use them and the best way to do that is simply by searching the plethora of information sitting right at your fingertips on google/youtube. Virtually any problems you have, someone else has already experienced first, the answer is just waiting out there. Once you've got the basics of the tools down, it should feel just as easy as drawing/painting traditionally.

In regards to the painterly style - that's pretty much all to do with the brush customisation and the way you move your hand when you paint. Just experiment a lot, style is something that comes naturally with practise ^-^

U have a great skill digital drawing sir @joxus

Thanks! I hope to improve this skill much more in years to come :)

Such an amazing portrait! Congrats, really love the colour key. Why don't you join our community @slothicorn and start being rewarded for your art? (here the Discord link https://discord.gg/hAUekjX)

Will check it out, thanks! :D

Really beautiful painting - I am a big fan of the "painterly" look. I love that you used a reference, but made it your own, rather than a copy. The under glow is a nice touch.
I had a peek around your page at your other works, and I'm loving your style. You've got yourself a new follower. Can't wait to see more!

Nice work there @joxus, the style is really nice and the blue underglow turns what would be a good portrait into something really eye-catching.

Glad you think so! I thought so too haha :)

I don't like lemons but I love this art!

This is the kind of drawing I love, it's really beautiful!

guauuu¡¡¡¡¡ eres muy bueno con arte digital me gustaría aprender

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks artzone <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64021.36
ETH 3150.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54