🎨 Town XIV - the painting that took me 20 years to finish

in #artzone6 years ago

A few weeks after I started this painting back in 1994 I got stuck with it. I didn't know how to finish it, my motivation was gone, I messed up. I knew I would continue with it at some point, but I didn't expect it would take me 20 years to finally get back to it. Then in 2014 one of my collectors saw and loved the painting and he asked me if I can finish it. So I finished it!

Town XIV, 1994-2014

Acrylic on fiberboard
60 x 80 cm / 23.62 x 31.5 in
Private collection / Germany

Details


www.gric.at

Sort:  

wow - never realized that we have something like this in common! I have a piece in my studio that probably goes back even further than that - I "rescued" it in 2016 from the recesses of a storage closet in my Canadian House and brought it back to Austria, but so far, I am just smearing left-over colors on it as glazes in parts (about 3/4 done), but may not get to it because I have other projects in mind right now.
Always good to have a collector give you the extra "push". Nobody had asked me to finish mine, lol

I still have a few "leftovers" which desperately need such a push!

Wow.. This is just perfect!!

Thank you @nmalove and also many thanks for featuring my painting at @artzone!

Great that you finished it. Restemeed!

Thank you Mirjana!

amazing, Peter. xx

Thank you Libalein! :-)

So the destiny of this masterpiece is not be forgotten in your studio

Yes! :-)

You have been featured on @artzone.

Courtesy of @nmalove

Fantastic! Thank you guys!

Fantastic draw i loved the painting 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍 😍

I wonder when really an artistic work concludes? I think that it never gives itself finished.
Good work.

There is a point when a painting starts getting worse if you keep working on it. It's all about finding this point.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

There is always some painting lurking somewhere that is waiting to be finished or paid attention to, isn't there.

When we moved to our current spot I slowly moved things from my old studio to my newer space here and found old paintings I had completely forgot about. Sometimes I'll hang them for the season on the wall of my studio to see if I want to go back in and sometimes they just stay there, adorn the wall and then get slid back into a rack at the end of Summer, waiting to be called upon again.

Having someone want the piece is a definite motivator and sometimes is all we need. I have also taken an old piece and added to it and covered bits and just really took it in a new direction.

There really is so much 'playing God' in art, we artists get to decide who stays, who goes and whether a tidal wave of paint will descend upon the world we painted and reshape it completely.

I love that I can't decide if the background is snow capped moutains, or fossilized chalk cliffs. A great piece and I'm glad it got finished.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70