🎨 Cocoon - original painting

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Cocoon, 2012

Acrylic on fiberboard
40 x 32 cm / 15.75 x 12.6 in
This original painting is still available.

Details:

Giclée prints: http://gric.at/shop/prints.htm
Posters: https://www.posterlounge.co.uk/artists/peter-gric/


www.gric.at

Sort:  

As always..

i am impressed.jpg

:-)

Thank you Agnes!

nice! This artwork is like a visual interpretation of what I feel like being trapped inside of my body.

I feel rather trapped in my mind! The body is a wonderful tool, the mind with its obsession with time, however, can be so absorbing and deceiving.

Indeed. It's funny though, I never cared about time until I started to feel the mortality of my body. There is irony in the fact that as we get older, time is shorter, yet we waste more of it worrying about running out of time!

I believe that the reason why we perceive time passing faster the older we get lies in our focus shifting more and more from the now to time. In our childhood we are mostly focused to our senses and to the present moment. Then while we grow up we are encouraged and forced by our surroundings to focus more on time, the dimension where thinking happens. The more we lose ourselves in time (thinking) the less now (life) we experience and consequently our lives seem to pass faster and faster.

So true. I commented on this idea on one of the other threads we were chatting on. I like your description of time (thinking) vs now (life). That's pretty much how I interpret it. So time abides in the realm of thought/self/constraint, while now lives perpetually in awareness/eternity/boundlessness.

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Thank you very much @nmalove & @artzone !

I really like how she is part of the cocoon and how it's open as to whether she is being used by it or its protector. Visually, I also like the progress from the open air at the top and the ever growing entangling tendrils.

I love this symbiosis!
Do you use acrylic for the drawing first, before you start to paint with the brushes?

Thanks @semipermeabile! Before I start to paint I model and edit my references in 3D-software. I then either use a projector to trace the lines of the references or I get them transferred directly on the board. The actual artwork is then painted and airbrushed with acrylics and sometimes also with oils.

Amazing. I love your style, it makes my mind wander off into unknown dimensions. I wonder what the cocoon is connected to...

The details are incredible, you are a good artist!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99