12 African Proverbs and Wise Sayings - Punctuality and Sincerity of Purpose

in #artzone6 years ago

Hey steemit friends! It's my first post here after my introductory post. I am coming your way with some beautiful African proverbs and wise sayings that portrays punctuality and sincerity of purpose.
wooden-mask-2543403_1280.jpg
Image Source

People of every race or nation have their own ways of passing information among themselves. Some in form of drawings, sculpture, drumming or song. But by far, the most commonly and widely used mode is verbal language. For instance, Common languages, idioms, secrets or esoteric language, and proverbs. Today, let me share some African proverbs with you.

• A little rain each day will fill the river to overflowing.

• A fool will be tasty at the edge of a lake.

• Although the snake does not fly, it has caught the bird whose home is in the sky.

• Even without drum beats banana leaves dance.

• Every bird flies with its own wing.

• Cross the stream before the flood comes.

• Better a curtain hangs motionless, than a flag blowing in the wing.

• By pounding, the dough will rise.

• Ears that do not listen to advice accompany the head when it is chopped off.

• He that never travelled thinks that his mother is the only good cook in the world.

• He who fears the sun will not become a chief.

• Happiness requires something to do, something to love and something to hope for.

African proverbs usually have two meanings, surface or literal meaning and the deeper meaning. The real or deeper meaning of an African proverb is not always precisely apparent and that is exactly why it is called proverbs.

The meaning of proverbs is not rigid, and so it can be modified. It user is free to reconstruct a proverb to make it appropriate in the particular context in which It is being used.

I hope you had a nice read of this few African proverbs I just shared with you today. I hope to share a few more some other time.

Please follow me. @freedonor. Be my friend. Thank you!

Sort:  

Great post

So you upvote yourself big and upvote me small. Is that how you do it?

Haha.. No worries. .. You got ur upvote..

Hey man! Don't worry. You've got us here. @julietisrael @oredebby, @vheobong @giving-girl @gee1 @fatherfaith @druids @geekis guys, tag others.

We got you covered.

@belemo @blogtrovert please come and see

and I just did... Lol. Welcome to steemit @freedonor

@ritaaugustin @celineaugustinee
@aauthespian1 tagged me on this lets welcome him and support him.
Great post @freedonor

This your comment is funny, I like your speaking out spirit. Welcome to Steemit!!!

@teardrops, @greenrun, @nairadaddy, @vheobong, @one-person, @doris-adioha, @joshuaetim, @joeycrack, @stach, @gee1, @jeaniepearl, @zizymena, @bob-elr, @olawalium, @oluwatobiloba, @steem-x, please let him feel the steemit love. Thanks guys...

@jeline, you just tagged the whole Nigeria and other countries. Lol

Hahahaha, this is just the first batch o.
Thank you for your support ✌

Ngwanu, I am here to give my small upvote...

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaha

Follow @wafrica you could get some votes

Okay. Thank you.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

I have followed you now.

I do not know why I was tagged o but welcome to steemit and I hope you find success here like others.
Keep your content original and interact and you should be fine. Stay safe; peace.

Hi @freedonor,don't let ish like this discourage you OK. Make friends, join communities and enjoy your steemit journey. Stay awesome.

Onku freedonor, welcome to steemit and epp me toe manage my small hupvote.
Me i don't use to hupvote myself big and someone else own small, my own hupvote is equal😂😂

Thank you. @doris-adioha It was @tomhall that upvoted me 0.00 immediately after i posted and upvote himself 0.23. I was shocked and weak.

😨😨
Na wa o, some pipu are funny o.... Don't mind them.
It's a good thing you spoke up, I like your boldness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67