My First Project As Choreographer || Project pertamaku sebagai koreografer.

in #artzone6 years ago

I have been active in an art community in Banda Aceh for 11 years. I have learned many things there. It started from how we understand our local arts and cultures, until how we can become the good artists. we often participate in various arts events: either locally, nationally or internationally. We also teach our young generation to be more aware to our own cultures through many art performances. We teach and asked them to participate in many art events.

IMG_20180507_122315-01.jpeg

For the past 11 years, I have more often produced works in the theater. But few months ago my mother asked me to create and teach traditional creation dance at the school she led in order to join a competition. To be honest I was in doubt because I had never been a dance choreographer before. This will be my first project. I'm afraid about how if my dance will not be good enough and worthy to compete in a competition.

IMG_20180507_114747.jpg

My mother urges me to accept her offer. Well, that's a mother. Even when we can not trust ourselves, they will always believe that their children will be able to do it. because of that belief, finally I accepted his offer.

Screenshot_2018-05-17-13-03-34-572_com.miui.video-01.jpeg

Here, I want to do my best because I do not want to disappoint her. I taught the students in the dancing class earnestly and tried to get them to perform the movements I taught well. Actually it is a kind of very difficult job for me, because they do not have basic as a dancer before. their body movements are still very stiff. I was almost desperate for it, but I continued to encourage them and my own self to continue to do our best.

Screenshot_2018-05-17-13-04-42-660_com.miui.video-01.jpeg

Before performing on the competition stage, I asked them to perform at a school farewell that happened to be held a week before the competition day. Really, I did not think I could be so emotional at the day. I felt the incredible warmth that my tears seemed to spill over. it was my first work as a choreographer in dancing, I managed to do it.

Screenshot_2018-05-17-13-04-43-944_com.miui.video-01.jpeg

I know that the performance was still very far away from perfect, their stiff body will not necessarily bend easily. But we have done our best, my students have done their best. and I'm proud of them.

I heard thunderous applause as they finished their dance performance. I saw my mother smiling at the praises of the other teachers. and I'm so happy for that. If i could do it again, i will make her smile wider, I want to make she smile from ear to ear. It is because of her I can do it well. Thank you Mamak, I love you to the moon and back, I love you till Jannah (Heaven).

Note: We got the second place at the competition. Thank God for that 😊

with love,
@dhiannushur

.
.
.

saya telah aktif di salah satu komunitas seni di Banda Aceh selama 11 tahun, saya mempelajari banyak hal disana. Dimulai dari bagaimana kami memahami seni tradisi daerah kami hingga bagaimana menjadi pelaku seni yang baik. kami sering berpartisipasi di berbagai even kesenian, baik secara lokal, nasional, maupun internasional.

selama 11 tahun ini, aku lebih sering menghasilkan karya dalam bidang teater. namun beberapa bulan yang lalu ibuku memintaku untuk menciptakan dan mengajarkan tari kreasi tradisional di sekolah yang dipimpinnya untuk mengikuti sebuah kompetisi. Sejujurnya aku merasa ragu, karena sebelumnya aku tidak pernah menjadi koreografer tari. Ini akan menjadi project pertamaku. aku takut apakah tarianku akan cukup baik dan layak untuk bersaing dalam sebuah kompetisi?

Ibuku mendesakku untuk menerima tawarannya. Well, begitulah seorang ibu. Bahkan ketika kita tidak dapat mempercayai diri kita sendiri, mereka akan selalu percaya bahwa anak-anaknya pasti mampu melakukannya. karena kepercayaan itu pula aku menerima tawarannya.

Disini, aku ingin melakukan yang terbaik karena tidak ingin mengecewakannya. aku mengajari siswa-siswa di kelas tari itu dengan sungguh-sungguh dan berusaha membuat mereka mampu melakukan gerakan-gerakan yang aku ajarkan dengan baik. Sebenarnya itu sangat sulit, karena mereka tidak memiliki basic sebagai penari. gerakan tubuh mereka masih sangat kaku. aku hampir merasa putus asa karenanya, namun terus saja aku menyemangati mereka dan diriku sendiri untuk terus melakukan yang terbaik.

sebelum tampil di atas panggung kompetisi, aku meminta mereka untuk tampil di acara perpisahan sekolah yang kebetulan diadakan seminggu sebelum hari kompetisi tersebut. Sungguh aku tak menyangka aku bisa begitu emotional. aku merasakan keharuan yang luar biasa sehingga air mataku seolah akan segere tumpah. itu adalah karya pertamaku di dalam seni tari, aku berhasil melakukannya.

aku tahu penampilan itu masih sangat jauh dari sempurna, tubuh kaku mereka tak akan serta merta melentur dengan mudah. namun kami telah melakukan yang terbaik, murid-muridku telah melakukan yang terbaik. dan aku bangga pada mereka.

Aku mendengar tepuk tangan bergemuruh ketika penampilan tari mereka selesai. aku melihat ibuku tersenyum mendengar pujian dari guru-guru lainnya. dan aku sangat bahagia. Jika aku dapat melakukannya lagi, aku akan membuatnya tertawa lebih lebar. Ini semua dapat terjadi karena dirinya.
Thank you Mamak, I love you to the moon and back, I love you till Jannah (Heaven).

Note: Kami mendapatkan peringkat kedua dari kompetisi itu. Terima kasih Ya Allah untuk itu semua.

With Love, @dhiannushur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56