DOT TO DOT SKELETON #6

in #artzone6 years ago

I’m using this old photo from the early 1900’s as a base for my new dot to dot drawing. I added a mild red color tone to help the lines I drew stand out. I used a line that resembles chalk so it would look like a blackboard drawing. The dot to dot lines partially obscure the face. The result looks both like an X-ray revealing the man’s interior skeleton and a mask which ironically obscures the surface of his face.

The final image reminds me of a Madri Gras or Voodoo figure. I added birds that whisper in his ears. Perhaps they are trying to comfort his tears? Is he among the walking dead? Or is he seeker looking to find a lost soul? Who really knows, it’s up to the viewer to decide.

B0DE1983-DBDD-4943-B7F3-C54227A022A9.jpeg

To see the other images in my skeleton series click @beginningtoend

When I’m not creating art I’m writing poetry or reading poetry. Here is a poem from one of my favorite poets that I thought went well with this image.

A POEM BY CHARLES SIMIC / Eyes Fastened with Pins

How much death works,
No one knows what a long
Day he puts in. The little
Wife always alone
Ironing death’s laundry.
The beautiful daughters
Setting death’s supper table.
The neighbors playing
Pinochle in the backyard
Or just sitting on the steps
Drinking beer. Death,
Meanwhile, in a strange
Part of town looking for
Someone with a bad cough,
But the address is somehow wrong,
Even death can’t figure it out
Among all the locked doors ...
And the rain beginning to fall.
Long windy night ahead.
Death with not even a newspaper
To cover his head, not even
A dime to call the one pining away,
Undressing slowly, sleepily,
And stretching naked
On death’s side of the bed.

logo 1.jpg

Sort:  

Gosh. Your artwork is simply stunning. Perfection.

Thanks for your recent comments, I would also appreciate your upvote, it not only helps me out but gives me a quick link to your work in the list of upvoters.

It's really an interesting dot to dot artwork! I agree, it reminds the Mardi Gras ;)

Thanks, these are fun to create.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60