Phoenix

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)


This is my scratchboard piece with Phoenix,
which I manipulated further in Photoshop.
Phoenix is a universal symbol of resurrection and immortality,
of death and rebirth by fire.
It is a fabulous bird which dies by self-immolation.
It remains dead for three days (the dark of the Moon)
and rises again from ashes on the third day;
this is lunar symbolism, but the Phoenix is universally symbolic of the Sun
as it is the "fire bird" and signifies divine royalty, nobility, and uniqueness.
It also represents gentleness since it crushes nothing it alights on
and feeds on no living thing, only dew.
img251.jpg
I used Ampersand Art Scratchbord, an old dental tool and Exacto knife.
img251a.jpg
And here I played around with some layers in Photoshop..
Phoenix.jpg
I have some stickers with this image available in my Etsy store:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/CosmicAttunement

Sort:  

Lovely lines and I really like the circular pose, which blends perfectly with the resurrection them of the mythology. I also think the choice of medium was perfect for this project.

Thank you! Glad you like!=)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Love the symbolism, very original interpretation.

Thank you!;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76