Song of Nature

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)


Ralph-Waldo-Emerson-S.jpg
Ralph Waldo Emerson, by Giovani Zanolino

Song of Nature

Mine are the night and morning,
The pits of air, the gulf of space,
The sportive sun, the gibbous moon,
The innumerable days.

small banner 1.jpg

I hid in the solar glory,
I am dumb in the pealing song,
I rest on the pitch of the torrent,
In slumber I am strong.

small banner 2.jpg

No numbers have counted my tallies,
No tribes my house can fill,
I sit by the shining Fount of Life,
And pour the deluge still;

small banner 3.jpg

And ever by delicate powers
Gathering along the centuries
From race on race the rarest flowers,
My wreath shall nothing miss.

small banner 4.jpg

And many a thousand summers
My apples ripened well,
And light from meliorating stars
With firmer glory fell.

small banner 5.jpg

I wrote the past in characters
Of rock and fire the scroll,
The building in the coral sea,
The planting of the coal.

small banner 6.jpg

And thefts from satellites and rings
And broken stars I drew,
And out of spent and aged things
I formed the world anew;

small banner 7.jpg

What time the gods kept carnival,
Tricked out in star and flower,
And in cramp elf and saurian forms
They swathed their too much power.

small banner 8.jpg

Time and Thought were my surveyors,
They laid their courses well,
They boiled the sea, and baked the layers
Or granite, marl, and shell.

small banner 9.jpg

But he, the man-child glorious,--
Where tarries he the while?
The rainbow shines his harbinger,
The sunset gleams his smile.

small banner 10.jpg

My boreal lights leap upward,
Forthright my planets roll,
And still the man-child is not born,
The summit of the whole.

small banner 11.jpg

Must time and tide forever run?
Will never my winds go sleep in the west?
Will never my wheels which whirl the sun
And satellites have rest?

small banner 12.jpg

Too much of donning and doffing,
Too slow the rainbow fades,
I weary of my robe of snow,
My leaves and my cascades;

small banner 13.jpg

I tire of globes and races,
Too long the game is played;
What without him is summer’s pomp,
Or winter’s frozen shade?

small banner 15.jpg

I travail in pain for him,
My creatures travail and wait;
His couriers come by squadrons,
He comes not to the gate.

small banner 16.jpg

Twice I have moulded an image,
And thrice outstretched my hand,
Made one of day, and one of night,
And one of the salt sea-sand.

small banner 17.jpg

One in a Judaean manger,
And one by Avon stream,
One over against the mouths of Nile,
And one in the Academe.

small banner 18.jpg

I moulded kings and saviours,
And bards o’er kings to rule;--
But fell the starry influence short,
The cup was never full.

small banner 19.jpg

Yet whirl the glowing wheels once more,
And mix the bowl again;
Seethe, fate! the ancient elements,
Heat, cold, wet, dry, and peace, and pain.

small banner 20.jpg

Let war and trade and creeds and song
Blend, ripen race on race,
The sunburnt world a man shall breed
Of all the zones, and countless days.

small banner 21.jpg

No ray is dimmed, no atom worn,
My oldest force is good as new,
And the fresh rose on yonder thorn
Gives back the bending heavens in dew.

Hupa-indian-circle-with-signature-S (339px, 25fps).gif

Ralph Waldo Emerson 1803 - 1882

Sort:  

The best artwork you show to your brothers @artzanolino is incredible from your work, I am amazed and salute, hopefully more success will grow other great creative artists in the field of art. 👌

The beauty of Art, is that we can all contribute to it's growth and progress :)

Thank you sister @artzanolino hope we like artwork, life is increasing in our personal category, success is always for you.👌

Awsome my friend, great poem and tribute with art peice. It does it justice; well done.

Thank you, what an awareness in his verses huh?

Hello, artzanolino, I'm @ArtTurtle, an upvote bot run by @Artopium. I just upvoted this post and resteemed it because I'm following you and, well, that's just what I do. Reciprocation is always appreciated! If you no longer wish to have @ArtTurtle follow you please reply to this comment with 'STOP'.

You're awesome, slow and steady wins the race!

Excellent tribute to a man who loved nature, what great details this work has.

Hmmm. I wonder if the man-child is really the summit of it all. Your illustration is lots of fun.

You think the man-child is One who suffers not from an adulterated heart and mind? Thanks for the compliment and feedback :)

I am trying to figure out what an adulterated heart and mind might be. Impure, I suppose. He probably suffers from this without realizing it. I think the man-child believes himself to be the summit of creation and am not totally certain that this is the case.

wow...an interesting song, very impressive let alone combined with nature, you are amazing @artzanolino

Great poetry!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57897.73
ETH 3060.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26