Started Painting a Leopard today...

in #artzone6 years ago

Hello Steemians


I have still experimenting with painting, and today I am going to try paint a leopard


Painting - The Leopard


This is what it looks like so far... there is still alot of work to do, but at least the basic shape of the leopard is showing at the moment.

Animated Gif

This is an animated gif of the drawing process



Drawing Process

These are the steps that I followed to create the painting

Step 1 - Paint the Base and create Gridlines


I use yellow as the base color for the canvas, because it is a color that is easy to draw grid-lines on. In addition, when I commence with the painting, the yellow base can create a shining effect. After the paint dries, I then create gridlines - at the moment I am using 16 blocks for this painting.

Step 2 - Create the Pencil Base


I try to ensure that the eyes of the leopard are placed around the middle of the canvas, as that is generally the position of the "focal point" of the painting. I also try to draw softly so as to not damage the canvas.

Step 3 - Outlining the Leopard in black paint


This step, I start to outline the pencil base with paint, this is the beginning of the painting and generally fixes the area of the Leopard.



This step can take some time, but once it is done, it looks like this

Step 4 - Using lighter paint to Guide


During this stage, I use a lighter/brighter color such as white to fix mistakes that I made on the previous steps, and also to indicate areas where the painting will be brighter. This step may look messy, but I see it as an essential step in the process.

Current Status


This is what it looks like at the moment


Hope that you enjoyed this post

These awesome page dividers are created by @Kristyglas

Thanks for your time and have a great day!


Sort:  

Gifted hands indeed. The first time i tried drawing in the art class i was embarrassed and i will never forget that bad experience. I decided from that day that i will just appreciate those that are really talented and gifted in it and it will be enough for me. I will never ever draw again.

Thank you for your kind words @natsemily. Have an awesome day!

Keep up the creative work, I'm adding you to the @ArtZone voting list.

Thank you @artzanolino. Really appreciate it! Have a fantastic day!

Great work artzone.curator has upvote you 100%

Thank you very much @artzone.curators! Really appreciate it. Have a wonderful day!

good work dear friend apprentice001 ,this color is too perfect for leopard and the white color make some light on your painting. Carry on for more improve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87