Transcendence. Pen and ink drawing.

in #artzone6 years ago

There is an idea that torment and suffering can lead to bliss. Something I had in mind while creating this.

Also while drawing this piece I was listening to a lot of Nurse With Wound. A very avant-garde industrial sounding musician that started in the late 70's. I'm not sure if this had any influence on me or not.

Transcendence_Large.jpg

Detail

Transcendence_detail1.jpg

Detail 2

transcendence_detail2.jpg

As usual the crosshatching took the most time.

Website for more work: https://www.anthonychristopherart.com/

Sort:  

I really like waking up everyday and got greeted by your art :D.

-upvoted-

Details in this are phenomenal, brilliant!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

There is an idea that torment and suffering can lead to bliss.

Seems like you might know a thing or two about that idea from firsthand experience.

This piece is perfect. There's an organic feel that is reminiscent of wood or tree bark. Then we have the starry-eyed element, more nature. Plus, those lips. What mystique you've captured.

To me, your Transcendence brings to mind nature's version of the View Master:
view-master.png

This is quite the response. I do thoroughly enjoy hurting myself, I don't really thing I could call it torment and suffering.

I don't do this things anymore, in the masochistic sense. The amount of pain it does to others is not worth it.

Do you substitute mental self-hurt for physical self-hurt? That was a very personal question, forgive me if it was too forward, it seemed to come out of nowhere. From where I stand it seems like you've learned to become an expert at channeling your pain into your work. That's why it's so standout, that plus your dedication. Needless to say, I've enjoyed following you here on steemit! :D You are a fascinating specimen, and I mean that in the nicest way.

That's a very good question. I'm an open person so anyone can ask me whatever they want. I remember being in grade school and I started hurting myself out of boredom because I couldn't sleep. I've always had trouble going to bed at an early time. In my room I did not have much. Some cd's, a walkman, pens and paper. So I would draw and listen to music, write some poetry (which I still have examples of) and I ended up hurting myself a lot. I used to sew into my arm and leave in the thread over night, hit myself in the head, all sorts of dumb things.

I was afraid to leave my bedroom because I knew I was suppose to be sleeping. So being in a small room just made me doing very harmful things to myself, and before I knew it, I enjoyed it. It became sort of an addiction. I could go into a lot more but I believe that's the basis of it. It started from boredom and became something fun.

A remarkable evolution, very different from the way things might appear on the surface. This was not a story I expected, although I don't really know what it was I was expecting to get as an response. Thanks for being open and for sharing your past experiences. How great that you are able to put so much of yourself into your work.

Generally speaking, everyone has their own rituals and routines with their body. What is enjoyable for one person could be the utmost torture for another. Three cheers for the complexities of the human mind-body connection and its layers of mystery!

Little side story for you, back in high school, there was a boy a couple classes ahead of me who sewed "Happy Birthday" into his forearm before class one day because nobody remembered it was his birthday. It's been a long time since then, but that's stuck in the brain goo, maybe permanently.

wow thats intense linework!

Congratulations @achristopherart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Excelente técnica y el tiempo que le dedicas a los detalles. Excelente trabajo, que sigas mejorando.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65687.24
ETH 3269.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69