"1st Art-Trail Contest" The Wikiman 3.0 Portait of Julian Assange

in #arttrailcontest7 years ago

image1.JPGThe Wikiman 3.0 Painting 150cm x 100cm 2012-2017 (acrylic,ink and spraypaint on canvas)

I first went to the Equadorian Embassy in 2012 when Julian Assange gave his first speech from there. I drew sketches of the circus with the idea that I was witnessing an historic moment. Over the next year I painted an oil painting from the sketches. I was happy with the overall layout of the piece but never quite got Julians face right so I scrapped the painting and started a digital piece. The second piece wikiman 2.0 was much more like the vision I had originally had but now was missing the serendipity of the original painting. As Julian was still in the same position I decided to continue repainting and refining the portrait until his release. This is version 3.0, where I have tried to include elements of the original oil painting and the digital remake. This painting is currently on show at Window71 Gallery in London.

#arttrailcontest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00