My Submission for the 1st Art-Trail Contest

in #arttrailcontest7 years ago (edited)

Below is my entry for the 1st Art-Trail Contest, category Painting/Drawing
Thank you @art-trail for the contest!

2_greenberg_Dawn (1).jpg
"Dawn"
This piece captures that moment between dark and dawn at the first hint of morning light when you can hear the first bird of the morning begin to sing. For me it's a magical moment and if I'm awake for it, my heart carries it all day.

Ruth Frances Greenberg (aka @natureofbeing)
Ceramic Tile Mosaic/glaze painting (grout fills the spaces between ceramic pieces)
12" x 12", 2007

This piece has always been special to me since I made it after a few years of intense commission work when I hadn't made one single piece for my own pleasure or exploration. I just loved making it and it kicked off an especially creative 7 years during which I made some of the work I'm most proud of.

Thanks for taking a look at my submission and hopefully voting for me!

Sort:  

Great work @natureofbeing! That's a particular sound and image that resonates with me. Way back when in architecture school I frequently heard that familiar bird chirping just as color on the horizon rose into my studio... typically after a long night of work. It was a nice quiet feeling that really got engrained into me. You'd think I might pair it with stress or anxiety, but I always enjoyed and embraced it. Thanks for sharing this piece!

Thanks @voronoi! So glad to hear it, really a poignant point of transition from night to day :-))

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful, Ruth! I love the blues of the sky. Best of luck to you!

thanks @ericvancewalton! Met lots of talented artists here on Steemit with this contest, pretty cool thing.

You're welcome! There's such a high concentration of talent here it's ridiculous.

Hi - I had to do a huge Steemit catch up and read all your more recent posts. Super inspiring great content as always.

thanks @bridgetbunchy :-), I understand the catch-up all too well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16