4th Art-Trail Contest, self portrait - Swallowtail ButterflysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #arttrailcontest7 years ago (edited)

This was an easy one for me, scanning through the photographs in my cache of images.  Yellow Swallowtail Butterflies have always been my favorite since childhood, even after viewing a Monarch migration from Mexico, in Broomfield, Colorado one year that lasted for about a week - there were butterflies everywhere! I have used this on my Facebook banner in the past, especially because I could relate to it as a metaphor for my self.

I captured this photo in the mud room of my house in Cripple Creek, Colorado...I bet it was about five years ago. Already? This beauty flew in and found itself trapped.  I had to capture a photo before helping it find its way back outside. I've had some pretty crazy life experiences and the transformation metaphor (ie, death and rebirth) has been an overall life theme for me in recent years.

Enjoy!


Sort:  

wow thats a huge butterfly. I am having a art giveaway you are welcome to participate https://steemit.com/art/@bitcoinman/calling-all-steemians-for-a-vote

Thanks, I will check it out.

which category of the art trail contest are you submitting it to?
digital?

Yes, of course. Sorry if I didn't say that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80