You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Talk: Art in Paris in the 1870s

in #arttalk5 years ago

You are a woman after my own heart. I love the impressionists and visit them in any museum first. I've seen most of these in person too and photos never do them justice. At the MET in NYC, I barely get to anything else since they have such wealth there.

I too, love that they were a group of friends and co-workers. I think they egged each other on to greatness by being fans and critics.

I saw a sketch by Pizarro's son that showed four of them working together out in the woods somewhere. I often think how wonderful that would have been to be walking and come across such a scene.

Great job on this post. More please!

Sort:  

@fitinfun thanks so much for your comment. I love the MET too. Did you see my recent post of a highlight tour of the MET. It is really one of my favorite places! I have three favorite museums The National Gallery in DC, The Isabella Stewart Gardner and the MET.

I would love to see that sketch. I will have to look for it. If you could link it that would be great.

That is great that you are living in Malaysia. My first love in art was Impressionism and Italian Renaissance. I now am very interested in Asian art. There is so much to cover so more will be coming soon!

Here is a video I did about the sketch on my you tube channel. Sorry for the blur on this one. I have a lot of videos over there about Pissaro - my artistic hero.

That was from a big heavy book I used to have about the Impressionists and their interactions with each other. I'm sure I reference it on at least one of my videos, but I can't look or I will kill my minutes.

I did not see your tour. Can you please give me the link since I have bad wifi to search for it?

I like the Phillips in DC and the Freer there for Asian art. I am unlikely to get back there, so you will have to see it for me. Please keep me name and spam me up in a comment any time. I would love to visit more of your posts.

This is so great, I am excited to watch it. Here is the MET link https://steempeak.com/arttalk/@sjarvie5/art-talk-highlight-tour-of-the-met and all of my Art Talk posts are linked at the bottom of the page through the intro post.

Yes, the Freer is great. I have been many times. I haven't been to the Philips very much. I will put that on my list! Did you also live in DC?

Also, I am starting a part of my Art Talk blog with guest bloggers. Would you like to do one? I think with all the knowledge you have of Pissaro it would be a fantastic addition.

Oh my goodness. Great post on the met. I've seen most of that and you bring back wonderful memories. And the deer is crazy!

I just visited dc on my own a few times, and then worked for the us navy for 6 years. They sent me to a lot of dc conferences. So I would take my son @bxlphabet out of school and go from Friday to the next Sunday and tour around when I did not have to be working.

We actually did that all over the country. Where ever there is a navy port, I've probably been there for a conference. Pearl Harbor was a good one!

My address is [email protected] would you email me there and we can set things up.

Oh and I wanted to say that with Steempeak I can assign beneficiaries so I can make you a beneficiary of the post too.

I'm just answering here. I would love to do any collab with you. I have really limited wifi, but I will try. How would this go?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68