The Legend of the Nyami Nyami

in #artstyleart57 years ago (edited)

legend of the nyami nyami less dark.png


I'm not sure if this is going to cut it for modernism but after looking through some images I decided on this route to tell the story of the Nyami Nyami. I did a lot of research on African folklore and I really liked the tale behind this river god and thought it would be perfect for a village elder to regale the story to eager listeners around the fire. Below is some details about the river god I found here: http://www.victoriafalls-guide.net/african-mythology.html

There were links to a few other stories that I may take on to paint as well, I love folklore!


African mythology of the local Tonga tribe of the Zambezi Valley states that Nyami Nyami the River God who lives in Lake Kariba is believed to be a serpent-like creature. He is said to be about three metres wide, but nobody dares to guess at his length.

Legends has it that the water stains red when he swims past. Chief Sampakaruma saw him on two occasions many years ago, but the river god has been in hiding since the white men arrived in the country.

According to African mythology he lived under a large rock close to the present day Kariba dam wall. No tribesman would venture near it those few who did were sucked down with their canoes in the whirlpools and never seen again. They called the rock Kariwa, the "trap" and hence the name of the lake, Kariba.

The rising water of lake Kariba covered the rock Kariwa and it now lies 30 metres below the surface annoying Nyami Nyami. The Tonga people also believe that Nyami Nyami is married and that the building of Kariba Dam wall would separate him from his wife, this would anger him greatly and the river god threatened the peace of the valley.
Source: http://www.victoriafalls-guide.net/african-mythology.html

I started with thumbnail sketches to get the right feel and make sure I was staying on track with my storytelling. After I found a thumbnail I liked I did a larger sketch.


nyami1.jpg
I then added nice base tones.
nyami2.jpg
After the bast tones dried I went in with a smaller brush and tried to be expressive with the medium and smaller shapes.
nyami3.jpg


Once I was happy with everything I took the painting into photoshop and finished up the painting there.
legend of the nyami nyami less dark.png


I hope you enjoyed my take on the Legend of Nyami Nyami, thanks for looking!













Sort:  

I love his story and his pictures. I will follow you

I'm glad you liked it @ponnibong. I appreciate the follow as well, thanks for looking!

thanks you :D

Nice drawing in your next post I would like to read the tale of river god.

I added it to this post, I was in a time crunch to add my entry to the artstyleart contest so I had to be quick. Literally made it in a minute before midnight lol! I'm glad you liked the painting, there are more stories on the website and I added a link to it if you like reading folklore. All the best!

thank you

No problem at all, have a good one. :)

This is cool :) Upvoted

Thanks a lot @mrslauren, you are awesome!

You got magic in your hands! I love the story :)

Ack! I missed you, so sorry. Your comment made me so happy the other day and I totally spaced writing to thank you for it. You're the best, your compliment made my day :)

Maybe not modernism in style @fumansiu but certainly modern in medium. I'd love to have a go at manipulating a painting in Photoshop. Did you use a tablet? I'm your newest follower as I'd like to see more painting from you.

Thanks @throughwindows, I use a Wacom Intuos Small tablet. It took forever and a half to get used to it but I've been forcing myself to use it for about a year now and I'm finally semi comfortable with it. I still love using my traditional paints though because of the expression I can get with them. Bringing them into the computer allows me to try and keep some of that traditional look without messing with texture filters and other photoshop brushes that in my opinion don't really capture the same effect (I probably just need even MORE practice, haha).

Glad you want to see more paintings, stay tuned. :)

Just fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and thank you for the story.

Wow, thank you @aksinya I'm happy you stopped by. Thank you for giving me the challenge, I had a really fun time figuring this one out and it was a fantastic project to work on :D

I'll be looking forward to the next series, the art community here is awesome!

A fabulous article. Very informative. I like the history. Will definitely follow.

I'm happy you liked it, I've been geeking out on folklore and legends lately so this was a fun opportunity for me to mix art making and learning.

A well presented narrative :) I am from Southern Africa and can relate somewhat, having known many who descend from those who revered such 'gods'.

Some people see Man's attributing godhood to such imaginary things or living things or inanimate things as evidence that God is imaginary since 'every civilization seems to find something to worship'.

I couldn't agree less.

crocodile-2293232_640.jpg

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and that sweet shot of the crocodile :) (I always get crocodile and alligator mixed up)

I'm glad you took the time to comment, have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67