Addiction and surrealism - 3rd ArtStyleArt Contest - 'Alice'

in #artstyleart7 years ago (edited)

Alice, Acrylic and spray paint on canvas, 30''x40''
6sfwccs1200804022804pupil_art.jpg

This painting is about being lost in a labyrinth, addicted to the conjurings of the mind.

The story of Alice in Wonderland has sometimes been compared to one long acid trip endured by a young girl - I painted prolifically whilst experimenting with psychedelics, and this painting encompasses a feeling of being a helplessly exposed during this journey, grasping for answers in a nonsensical world.

I would love to hear your interpretations of this painting.

Sort:  

Thanks! Stay tuned for more :)

I like it.. Makes me curious.. The gate the rabbits.. Seems sexual fantasy wrong /forbidden pleasure.. conflict around pleasure...

Hi @secter! Interesting analysis, you've picked up symbolism of the gate and the rabbits, and some sort of conflict. Who are some of your favourite painters?

Van Gogh Picasso bill Reid..

Congratulations @throughwindows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fantastic painting my friend, may be like Alice in chains.

Hey @rajwrit :) Thank you I'm glad you see something in it. Funnily enough I was listening to quite a bit of AIC whilst painting this! My favourite songs are 'Again', 'Over now' aaaand probably 'Dirt'. Do you have faves?

First song I listened to was 'Dirt , then completed the whole album. It was different experience. I like most of the songs in the album 'Alice In Chain' , I could listen to Over now in loop whole day . @throughwindows

Wonderful artwork, upvoted and following you 🙂

Thank you @fleur I hope you see more you like during our steemit friendship! Having a look at your blog now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78