Artstorm Contest #12 - Scarecrows | Dorothy and the Scarecrow

in #artstorm6 years ago

Dorothy: "How can you talk if you haven't got a brain?"

Scarecrow: "Well some people without brains do an awful lot of talking don't they?"


The Wizard of Oz

The Yellow Brick Road.png

I'm a fan of old films, so for Artstorm Theme Scarecrow, I drew Dorothy from Wizard of Oz and her friend, the Scarecrow. They are walking through the Yellow Brick Road, talking and just enjoying having a companion on their way to seek the Wizard.

I don't know if other people will think of drawing some scary ones (I'm sure there will be) but being a scaredy cat, I chose to draw something cheery and colorful. :D

Process

This is one of those times when my very first sketch of the idea became the final one, without redoing, etc. which saved me a lot of time. I used a chiseled ink pen in dark grey to draw the two friends. Here is the picture without colors:

Scarecrow and Dorothy1.png

Coloring


The next step is just a simple matter of filling in the drawing with colors much like you would in a coloring book. As always, I used my water color brush for this step.

Scarecrow and Dorothy.png

My Entry

All colored, and now looking more vibrant. This is also my entry for the contest as the drawing submitted must be done in 15 minutes of less.

I added the background to give it more of a story. Initially, I did a much simpler one:

Scarecrow and Dorothy w BG.png

But of course, in the story, they travel together on the yellow brick road, and that's what I drew in the end. I made it a bit more colorful by adding in some rose bushes and lots of trees.

Here it is again:

The Yellow Brick Road.png

Share this Art!


Creative Commons.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

*

See you next time and happy steeming!

XO,
Noelle

The Jungle Steemit.png

Achievers Logo.png
noellesevilla.png

Sort:  

What a good idea! It must be fun to meet a talking scarecrow :)

Thanks so much Dee! Love their camaraderie 😍

Wow, thanks for featuring my work! Upvoted and resteemed

Howdy @noellesvilla! My first thought was scarecrow of the Wizard Of Oz, but I didn’t no how to simplify it. You did a wonderful job doing just that! Bye dear, and have a great day!

Aww, i couldn't draw something more realistic, so a cartoon is always my go-to. :) thanks debbie

Red high-heeled shoes for Dorothy. Hope she doesn't sprain an ankle along the cobblestones. Nice concept and better art. Love it.

Maganda yung shoes papa, pero paano kaya sya naglakad sa yellow brick road no. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50