Artstorm Contest #27 Day 1 - Theme Today - Barbie and Ken

in #artstorm6 years ago

47DB6A4D-00D3-4E68-97AB-71AE1619E125.jpeg
7431655F-738F-47AE-BFC7-C171B25EB331.png
Hi there everybody! This is my entry for today’s “Artstorm Contest #27-Day1- Theme: Barbie and Ken. I decided to draw this nostalgic couple walking on the beach 🏖 sporting these stylish matching torques bathing suits, you know it’s all about there apparel, at least that’s what I remember when I had played with my first Barbie dolls in 1963. Some wore hippie cloths back then. The first Barbie doll was made in 1959, the year that I was born. I wished I would have kept on to my old Barbies they would have been about 55 years old now. In mint condition in boxes, they would have been worth probably quite a bit of money. Some vintage Barbie Dolls in mint condition can be worth up to $30,000. A far cry from the $3.00 dollars they could be bought for in 1959! 😮 wow
5DC34528-3CD3-48D2-B77A-AFA692D0FE53.png

@lildebbiecakes

9F3F4EA0-8353-41A7-AEB7-AADB6CD8EC50.gif

Sort:  

You made this drawing so well. It's good skill to be able to draw people.

Thank you laputis, I tried to make them look like plastic the best I could❣️

Very nice my friend. Yes I have heard the same about the history of Barbie. Sadly Barbie encouraged a thin extreme body shape leading to eating disorders in my humble opinion. Barbie had Ken but for boys I do not believe that GI Joe had a counterpart. Blessings and thanks.

You are absolutely right! I don’t think that the Matell company set out to mess with children’s minds. A Barbies body was perfectly suited for cute on and off cloths someone was a genius, but I believe also 100% the doll did cause eating disorders with some little girls who wanted to have a body and face just like hers. I have seen documentaries of actual woman who have had extensive plastic surgery to look like Barbie. It’s very sad. Blessings brother ❣️448ADF4B-ECA7-4FF6-BCAA-637DB1F7B63C.jpeg

Amazing drawing :) I love vintage barbies Ken looks strong 💪

Thank you @josyweed, I’m calling you sister now, thanks sister! Ken is looking pretty buff here❣️

Your Barbie and Ken are a cool couple! They look so good together. I wasn't allowed to have dolls when I was a child as Mum thought they were silly. I did have an auntie who still gave me them at Christmas because she liked to make clothes for them. I always liked to limb them before Mum took them away.

Aw ... That’s so sad! I think most girls are born with a natural instinct to want to nurture babies, I believe that’s how God created us, and you can see in some other animals it is prevalent. Now my daughter didn’t like to play with dolls, but she played with stuffed animals that she babied and took care of them❣️

Excellent article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69