Entry for Artstorm Contest #13 - ball games -- The WINNER

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

88d1b4b5-d1d2-4d34-91d7-e0bc3f342382.png

Digital Art entry

Ball games
Title of this art: Fairies Playing Volleyball

This is my entry to the artstorm contest of @deemarshall. I know it will be a challenge for me to draw figures in motion because the theme is about ballgames. Lots of details is required to achieve even a simple submission. I wonder how I can pull this off while injecting a bit of fun.

I went for fairies as my subject. Do they have ballgames in fairyland? How does a ball look like and what's it made out of? Well, that's a challenge to conceptualize.

I can work fast with the bold and transparent brush strokes. The lines are so fluid which is perfect for this project. They need not be perfect as you can put layers upon layers should you make a mistake. The bodies and wings of the fairies are fun and my favorite to create. A stroke or two can make a wing; three to five more can make their dresses. Having said that half my task is done in no time. Now time for the most time consuming detail : the sea green ball. Yes that is a ball. The fairy in the center made a nice spike leaving the ball up in the air while the opponents wait on the other side. I hope you noticed the net that I carefully thought of. It is the one in golden color. It is made out of roots and twigs from the jungle and is suspended in air with the help of two beetles. Going back to the ball. At first I couldn't create the perfect shape because this is not a solid ball. It is a roll of green ribbon that was woven to form the volleyball. I needed to use different shades of green so that I can show where the light is hitting. I hope I achieved that goal.

That's the process it took to complete this drawing. It was an experiment and a fun one. I hope you like it. Until next time.

Cheers
@dinglehopper

If I had the luxury of time, this is how the detailed fairy should look like. This is not the entry

92ac0df7-b4be-40e6-ab3e-660bd2047945.png

Sort:  

806B3B02-EC6E-43AE-A4A5-CFB4EC1338A6.jpeg
Congratulations @dinglehopper on your win good job 👍!

That piece of art you attached is so sweet thank you @lildebbiecakes

You achieved motion and depth with this brilliant idea! If they didn't have volleyball in Fairyland before, you have given it to them :)

Thanks Dee for being so encouraging as you'd always been.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40