Entry for Artstorm Contest #12 - scary animals

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

74026217-c4ce-4cf1-b0a9-efc56d77ccf0.png

Digital Art entry

Scary Animals
Title of this art: Vigilant

Hi Steemies,

This is my submission to the artstorm contest hosted by Dee Marshall. I am glad I made it this far and I hope I'd be able to participate tomorrow still. You see this is a week long activity and I must admit that it helped me be more active here on this platform. That is already an achievement for me.

Today, we have scary animals as the theme. Well, It depends on each individual I guess, what may be scary for me couldn't be for someone else. So, the obvious choice for me would be a snake. Oh, Just the thought of me saying that word already made me curl my toes.

On this quick illustration that I made, you will see the bush viper . If my drawing is not scary enough you can do your own quick search and see. This snake is only found in the tropical subsaharan Africa so not a lot of people may have heard of this snake.

For the process of my drawing, I made a sketch of how I want the snake to be positioned using green as my base. I then started detailing the eye right away because that's the part that requires more time. Remember this is a 15 minute drawing challenge. I then placed the scales using the brush -- fountain pen. I used this brush because it helped me achieved the scales effect with little effort. After the secondary details are added I decided to use a darker background and I'm glad I did because the bright green scales popped. This is one of my favorite drawing so far. I hope you like it.

Until next time.
Cheers.
@dinglehopper

Sort:  

Your drawing makes my blood run cold. I don't usually mind snakes but yours is scary.

Great detail on the eye and I like how you painted the scales. Best of luck!

Thank you Noelle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75