Entry for Artstorm Contest #11 - starry nights

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

0cca321e-6894-40a6-bbb9-e787b6672004.png

Digital Art entry

Starry Nights

Title of this art: Warmth and Shelter

The illustration is about the scenic desert night. The desert could be mysterious but beautiful at night, it is so fascinating that is why it is my subject for this digital art submission.

You will find the beautiful sand dunes at the bottom the color for it is sand. The dunes were created using the digital brush: fountain pen. I set the size bigger than usual and more transparent to give that layered effect which I really love. For the distant hills,I used a solid brush. The color I used is the same sand but adjusted it for a more darker tone. I used the same brush for the sky which is in a dark slate grey. The navies and blues may not work with my palette so I opted for grey. At the center is a nomadic yurt-like structure with fumes coming out on the chimney tops. This signifies there is food being prepared inside as well as warmth should gypsies and nomads wandering around the desert might want to find a temporary shelter. I put some trees around the area using again the fountain pen brush in just a few simple bold strokes. That is the trick I used to meet the 15 minute time, avoiding over complicated details.

Now, for the starry night effect. I used the ballpoint pen brush to speckle the night sky. I love this part because I don't have to think much about the placement of the dots or stars because they could be random who cares. I then used the fountain pen brush, adjusted it to be more transparent and created the swirling effects on some dots to achieve the glowing look of stars. You see, I want to achieve some sort of a Van Gogh effect. Hope it works.

I hope you enjoy reading about the process and the final product of this little task. Until next time Steemies.
Cheers.
@dinglehopper

Sort:  

Thank you for collaborating with me to promote this post as explained at https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/10-ways-to-fund-a-steem-growth-project.

A beautiful desert night sky. I bet it's spectacular out there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69095.98
ETH 3678.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48