Warhol, Warhol, Warhol! A Tribute to Any Warhol and Pop Art!

in #artstorm6 years ago


toilepopart.com

Marilyn Pop Art Canvas Art by Andy Warhol

Just lose yourself in the talent of Andy Warhol. Alas, I was born too late again to appreciate his career when he was alive. My mum, who was a trained artist herself, detested Andy Warhol's work. She said it wasn't art!

For me, viewing the Marylin canvas now, it looks like digital art. I think he was an innovator!

American artist, Andy Warhol was born on 6th August 1928.

Here is an example of Warhol's very early work:

Piglet (1959) By Andy Warhol

It's a childlike drawing and I love it!

I've heard many people say that Warhol's artwork is just adverts. I know why they say this but pop art is often confused this way because, as the Google Dictionary tells us, pop art is 'art based on modern popular culture and the mass media, especially as a critical or ironic comment on traditional fine art values.'

Here is a famous example of Warhol's pop art:

Repetition and Variation By Andy Warhol

Warhol explains,

'In August 62 I started doing silkscreens. I wanted something stronger that gave more of an assembly line effect. With silkscreening you pick a photograph, blow it up, transfer it in glue onto silk, and then roll ink across it so the ink goes through the silk but not through the glue. That way you get the same image, slightly different each time. It was all so simple quick and chancy. I was thrilled with it.'

– Andy Warhol

As I said before, it looks like a precursor to digital art. Warhol experimented with painting, and printmaking as well as drawing and sculpture. What a multi-talented artist! He was into film and music too.

I could go on forever singing the praise of Andy Warhol but I know many Steemians don't like long posts.

I hope this article has stimulated your interest in pop art and Warhol himself!

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Here is one I did of Nelson Mandela a couple of years ago, well I am South African.

It's brilliant! Thank you for sharing it. Do you want it displayed in the Steemit Art Centre Gallery?

Thanks @deemarshall you can, great idea Steemit Art Centre gallery

Do you have a post link for it?

Right click and open in new window, right click again and save pic.

That is not what I asked! Of course, I already know how to do that!! I am asking for a link to a post you have made featuring this artwork so that you can gain income from it. People see your work in the gallery and want to give you an upvote.

Sorry I'm laughing to myself, haven't made a post of this one, something I did years ago, I'm sort of looking into more Pop Art with a mix.

Okay, thank you for letting me know :)

may I in with my work?

That is a nice image. If you want to display it in the Steemit Art Centre gallery, please leave a link in the replies section of that post. Here is the link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/steemit-art-centre-wednesday-s-update-come-and-see-what-is-new

Andy Warhol, was definitely an innovator that’s for sure! And your right Dee, his work to me looks very digitally done. I also did some silkscreening in high school loved it, but I don’t exactly remember the step by step procedure. Can you just imagine what he would think about the digital artwork of today. Thank you @deemarshall for sharing ❣️

Andy Warhol would have loved digital art, I bet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37