My New Acrylic Painting - 'The Way to Portmeirion'

in #artstorm6 years ago (edited)

Way to North Wales Painting.jpg

The Way to Portmeirion by Dee Marshall

Above is the new acrylic painting that I am giving to a North Wales fan for his 70th birthday.

I'm not any good at painting cars but I had to try as I went once in my old Viva that I called 'Sheridan Peter'. Going through the Brecon Beacons on the A470 was absolute scary fun. I had to paint Sheridan Peter crawling slowly up the mountain!

Here are some process shots:

1 Hill scene initial sketch 07.10.JPG

  • First I roughed out my design in my sketchbook.

2 Hill scene pencil sketch on acrylic paper 10.10.JPG

  • I did a sketch on acrylic canvass paper with the main guidelines.

2a Hill scene canvass prepared 11.10.JPG

  • I prepared my canvass with sky, cloud and earth colours. I painted guides in pink.

3 blocking in colour 1 13.10.JPG

  • I started blocking in colour with the hills and road.

5 Blocking in colour 18.10.JPG

  • I finished blocking in colour for the rest of the hills.

7 Trees on the back hill close up.JPG

  • I painted the tree-covered hills in the background.

10 Near hills07.07.18.JPG

  • I added detail and appropriate colours to the other hills.

Way to North Wales Painting.jpg

  • Finally, I added the car, tree and finished the road.

I'm pleased it's finished!

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

What a beautiful scene you have created, a great depiction of North Wales!

Love the process shots!

Thank you so much for your kind comments! You made my day by saying those nice things :)

one step by step, well said

Thank you for viewing and your comment :)

Wow... this is a gorgeous painting @deemarshall, I’d love to travel up those mountains with you. How beautiful that drive must have been. Theirs actually know mountains in all the state of Iowa, only bluffs. I really miss them, I grew up in my earlier years surrounded by mountains. I went to your blog to check out Steemit Art Centre, and I seen this picture at at the top of your list, wow 😮I thought it was a photograph. Love your shadowing, and the tree is outstanding! Makes me want to get out my acrylics and start painting❣️

You are so kind with your lovely comment. I feel so happy to read it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38