Artstorm! How I Choose the Winners!

in #artstorm6 years ago

How I Choose Winners..jpg

Before I publish the Artstorm winners today, I want to make this post about how I choose winners as people often comment that it must be a hard job.

Also, I am conscious that my choices might be controversial unless you know how I make them. I have been challenged about my choices and my answer is always the same. I thank the complainer for their views and suggest that they are free to award a prize from their own money to the entry they think should have won. While I pay the prizes, I choose the winners.

SME Joinup

For some time I've been waiting for a theme where the entries would demonstrate it well. 'Owls' fits with this.

So here is how I chose the winner in digital art:

There were 6 entries.

First, I searched google for cartoon owl images. This is a 5-second job.

Next, I compared the entries to those online.

I found one entrant had used an exact copy of this image for the owl:

Clker

So it was goodbye to that entry because it not only broke my contest rules but also gave the entrant an unfair advantage over people who took the time to draw their own owl.

Then I worked through the remaining 5 entries. I do it in the order they were received.

I reject any that I think took more than 15 minutes. Today I was happy that all could have been done in the time allowed.

I compare them two at a time and, literally, choose the one I like best as the winner.

On to non-digital art:

I had 16 entries in this category.

Using the same method, I worked through the entries.

I rejected 5 entries for copying online images. This is because they were not the entrant's original idea.

I rejected a further 3 entries because I didn't think they were drawn in 15 minutes.

That left me with 8 entries to choose the one I liked best.

So, there you are, that's how I do it.

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

I love this comment it amused me, great reply and congratulations on the continuation of your contest, it does take commitment.

I thank the complainer for their views and suggest that they are free to award a prize from their own money to the entry they think should have won.

Yeah, well it's all fun in a way. Many of my entrants are rep 25 - 30 and I like them to have a good chance along with those who know the ropes. Thank you for your good wishes.

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about how to succeed on steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment and non plagiarised posts
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something

You are lucky I don't flag you for spam! Your post is completely irrelevant to my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84