You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art School - Week 1 - Negative Space - Homework

in #artschool7 years ago (edited)

Heya @kraynne44
This is brilliant! :) This will be great to see how much you could improve in a short time! :)

Ill go about all the exercises and tell a little of what i think and where you could pay attention if you do them again ( i really hope you do! :D )

The chairs:
Okay I know this is probably the least fun task, the reason I put it first is so I can immediately see what i can expect of someone. I think you did really well but there are some mistakes which is of course completely fine!

Negative space is purely and solely about the white parts.(in this image!) So the idea is that you draw the outline of the white.. it results in having an outline of a bunch of chairs (you follow :D ) what happened in your drawing is that you've drawn some chairs as the forms of the chairs are crossing one another. You can look at the homework of some of the other students to see how they did it :)
Looking at one another's work is probably really helpful.
I hope you take some time to perhaps redo this exercise but you can also pick a more simple object. even a few pencils laying ontop of eachother could be great :)

The Blind Contours:
1st one I think you did really great with this one, you clearly just took the outline and made a good silhouette with it. My only feedback on this is 'Do more!' :) The second is alot harder since there are shapes within shapes.. if that makes sense! :) I can see in your drawing that you have tried to draw the figure where it would be better to try and draw the outline of the white.. it results in the same thing but it is that other way of looking at things which we try to trigger and learn :D

The hands are all pretty good but I think i miss the nuance / details in the shape, try to take your time and really look at.. what is happening with the outline of the hand how does it curve around the knuckles or how does the skin wrinkle when i bend my fingers,, what changes in that outline. :)

It really is a matter of practice and forcing that 'click' to start being able to look in a different way. Once that 'click' is there you will see massive improvement in a short time!

So i hope you stick with us and keep drawing! If you have questions or want feedback please feel free to let me know! :)

Sort:  

Oh, I see what you mean about the chairs crossing. I will definitely try to do more practice to improve. I will take your tips into consideration and I have been looking a the homework of some other students. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68