The Art of Music: Midnight Train to Georgia (cover)

in #artofmusic6 years ago (edited)

When I read that this week’s Art of Music theme was “Trains,” my brain made an instant hop to the song “Midnight Train to Georgia.”


source

It just so happens that I’m headed to Georgia next month for a weekend retreat with some fabulous people, all of whom I met through Steemit/Discord, and some of whom I got to meet in person a few months back in Tennessee.

I won’t be taking a midnight train to get there, but “three planes to Georgia” is decidedly less romantic, so let’s stick with the original lyrics. ;)

Alliance Linebreak

Midnight Train to Georgia, originally by Gladys Knight and the Pips


I’ve always loved the way the Indigo Girls covered this song (look it up, it’s amazing and probably the closest to my own performance), but I'm going to give you a couple of other videos for comparison. My version is below.

Here’s a kickass live version with Gladys Knight and the Pips performing their song:


via YouTube


I also found this absolutely stellar cover from Kappa Danielson. I am totally in love with this version:


via Youtube

Alliance Linebreak

And here’s humble ol’ me, playing a freshly-learned song about a place I’ll be visiting very soon… Georgia: where I plan to do a whole lot of singing.


Alliance Linebreak

Big shout out to those who run the Art of Music contest: @killerwhale, @enginewitty, @inthenow, and @sol25—and to everyone who participates!

If you enjoyed this song, please consider giving my comment-entry an upvote on the contest page. Thank you!

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @noblewitness, @jatinhota, @c0ff33a, @thekitchenfairy, @guiltyparties, @poetsunited, @sapphic, @derangedvisions — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Thanks to you for doing it. I love music and it's a pleasure for me to be a part of this. :)

I love this contest. I'm so glad to participate. :)

I can't wait to record you. I'm working on a 12 string to bring...

to Georgia :)

YAY! I'm sooooooooo looking forward to it! Thanks for seeking out a 12-string for me. Seems to be my thing. lol! ;)

no promises, but im working on it

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You sound so good.... Totally enjoyed that 😊

Oh! Thank you so much. That makes me really happy. :)

Dearest @katrina-ariel your version I am very touched, my dream now is to play the guitar like you, success in the contest and in your projects!
Dearest your version I am very touched, my dream now is to play the guitar like you, success in the contest and in your projects!

Thank you! What a compliment. :) But play guitar the way you play it. I'm actually a sloppy guitar player most days. lol! The important part is enjoying it. All my best!

A lovely take on an old favorite of mine. Beautifully done.

Who knows, maybe we can do some singing togather at the meetup! I'm a natural contralto, and I'll bet we'll blend nicely. ;-)

That would be fabulous, Cori! I didn't know you sing. Can't wait to meet you!

Likewise! I haven't played the guitar much, recently, but I sing all the time! ;-)

Hello @katrina-ariel, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Lovely cover of a classic! And yeah, "three planes" isn't as romantic! LOL!

Thank you, my friend! Yes, those three plane rides... At least I get to do them without kids this time. Might get some writing done. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43